April 30, 2003

ASCAP Honors Top Film and Television Composers and Songwriters at 18th Annual Gala


Henry Mancini Lifetime Achievement Award: Pictured at the ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards (l-r) are DreamWorks co-founder Jeffrey Katzenberg, Henry Mancini Award winner Hans Zimmer, ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman and producer/director and longtime Zimmer collaborator James L. Brooks.

ASCAP honored the composers, songwriters and publishers of the biggest box office film music and the most performed television music of 2002 at its 18th annual Film and Television Music Awards gala on April 30th at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. Over 750 members of the music industry elite attended the event hosted by ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman. ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento also participated

The event's highlight was the presentation of the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award to film composer Hans Zimmer in recognition of his outstanding achievements and contributions to the world of film and television music. Producer/director James L Brooks and producer and DreamWorks co-founder Jeffrey Katzenberg presented the award to Zimmer along with Bergman. Zimmer's colleagues from his production company, Media Ventures, were also on hand to share the moment.

An Oscar, Golden Globe and Grammy winner, Zimmer has been a defining creative force in film and television music for more than two decades. He's scored such box office hits as Gladiator, Driving Miss Daisy, Hannibal, Rain Man, Mission Impossible II, The Lion King, The Prince of Egypt, As Good As It Gets, Pearl Harbor, among many, many others. Zimmer was also honored with three additional ASCAP Awards for Black Hawk Down, The Ring, and for Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron (with collaborator Bryan Adams).


Multiple honoree Howard Shore, recognized for his scores from Lord of the Ring: The Two Towers and Panic Room, as well as for his many television themes.

Past recipients of the Henry Mancini Award include James Newton Howard, Quincy Jones, Michel Legrand, Johnny Mandel, Randy Newman and Alan Silvestri.

For the second year in a row, composer John Debney was recognized in the Top Box Office Film music category for three scores: The Scorpion King, Snow Dogs and Spy Kids 2. Also in the same category, Academy Award winner Howard Shore picked up two awards for his extraordinary score for The Lord of The Rings: The Two Towers and for Panic Room.

In the category of Most Performed Themes, awards were presented to Dan Foliart, Steven Kaplan, Branford Marsalis, Howard Shore and Michael Skloff. Honorees in the Most Performed Underscore category included Jack Allocco, Denis Hannigan, David Kurtz and Mark Snow. Skloff also received an award for his music from "Friends," which has been recognized each year since 1995, and was accompanied by "Friends" creator and executive producer, Marta Kauffman.


NBC's "Friends" continues to top the charts, and composer Michael Skloff (left) received another consecutive award for his work on the show. Joining him is "Friends" co-creator and executive producer Marta Kauffman, ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento and ASCAP's Nancy Knutsen.

Several hit songwriters were also recognized in the Top TV Series category, including John Rzeznik for "Good Morning Miami," Wendy and Lisa for "Crossing Jordan," Crystal Method's Ken Jordan for "Third Watch," Jakob Dylan for "The Guardian," and Lonnie Jordan of the group War for the classic hit "Low Rider," the theme for the series "George Lopez." Ken Jordan of Crystal Method received an award for his "Third Watch" theme.

Taking home the greatest number of awards with a total of five was composer Russ Landau, honored for the three most recent "Survivor" installments and the series "Fear Factor," as well as an award in the category of Most Performed Underscore.

Other top composers and/or songwriters on hand to receive honors were James Newton Howard ("Signs" and "E.R."), Nick Glennie-Smith (We Were Soldiers), John Powell (The Bourne Identity), Rick Marotta ("Everybody Loves Raymond" and "Yes, Dear"), Holly Knight ("Still Standing"), Marco Beltrami and Jon Hassell ("The Practice"), Sean Callery ("24"), Alf Clausen ("The Simpsons"), Dan Foliart ("8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter"), Nicole Hart ("American Dreams"), Reinhold Heil and Johnny Klimek ("Without A Trace") and Peter Himmelman ("Judging Amy").

Film and TV Music Awards Photos