2019 ASCAP Screen Music Awards

May 15, 2019

It was a glittering scene in Beverly Hills on May 15, when the creators of the greatest modern film, television and video game music came to celebrate and be celebrated at the 2019 ASCAP Screen Awards, hosted by comedian Richard Kind.

Composing giant Michael Giacchino was presented with our most coveted screen music honor, The Henry Mancini Award, by his friend and collaborator, filmmaker Brad Bird. The celebration included a big band medley of some of his most lauded themes from Up, Star Trek, The Incredibles, Lost and many others. The ever-dynamic Pinar Toprak - the first woman to score a $1 billion-grossing film (Captain Marvel) - received the ASCAP Shirley Walker Award from Skydance Media CEO David Ellison, in honor of her excellence in scoring and the doors she has opened for a more diverse screen music world. The audience was treated to a performance of her stirring themes to the Pixar short, Purl.

Dear Evan Hansen and La La Land songwriters Benj Pasek and Justin Paul added another award to their crowded mantle with the first ASCAP Vanguard Award ever given to composers for screen or musical theatre. Fans of The Greatest Showman were giddy to witness a performance of their hit song “This Is Me” by Keala Settle, who performs it in the film, and the show-opening rendition of “Come Alive” by vocalist Tim Davis. There were zero dry eyes in the house as theatre legend Stephen Schwartz, one of their heroes, proudly presented the award to Benj & Justin.

In another historic first, the ASCAP Harmony Award - co-presented by the Guild of Music Supervisors - was given to composer Nicholas Britell and music supe Gabe Hilfer for their collaboration on If Beale Street Could Talk. Our annual Composers’ Choice Awards - chosen exclusively by ASCAP composer members - bestowed honors on Jeff Cardoni (TV Composer of the Year), John Powell (Film Score of the Year for Solo) and Lena Raine (Video Game Score of the Year for Celeste).

We also celebrated the ASCAP members behind all of the biggest projects on every A/V platform. David Vanacore (Top Themes & Underscore winner), Maurizio Malagnini (Top Cable Series: Call the Midwife) and Dan Foliart and Howard Pearl (Top TV Series: Roseanne) each took a victory lap.

The night was full of laughter, light and more talent in one room than we thought was possible. And we cannot wait for next year!

Michael Giacchino

ASCAP Henry Mancini Award

Pinar Toprak

ASCAP Shirley Walker Award

Nicholas Britell & Gabe Hilfer

ASCAP Harmony Award

David Vanacore

Top Themes & Underscore Winner

Additional Most Performed Themes & Underscore Winners

Joel Beckerman
Michael Giacchino
Cat Gray
Jared Gutstadt
Jeff Lippencott
Didier Lean Rachou
Ed Robertson
Mark Snow
Mark T. Williams
Hans Zimmer

Dan Foliart & Howard Pearl

Top Network TV Series - Roseanne

Maurizio Malagnini

Top Cable TV Series - Call the Midwife

Michael Giacchino

Top Box Office Film Winner - Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom


Honoring ASCAP composers and songwriters for their themes and underscore from the highest rated series during the period of January 1 - December 31, 2018, and the series that have accumulated the most credits on Amazon, Hulu and Netflix during the 2018 ASCAP survey year


Jesse Voccia
Bosch (Amazon)

Rael Jones
Harlots (Hulu)

13 Reasons Why (Netflix)


Todd Haberman
911 (FOX)

Matt Bowen, Mark Petrie & Brad Segal
Bachelor in Paradise (ABC)
The Bachelor (ABC)
The Bachelorette (ABC)

David Vanacore
Big Brother (CBS)

Dave Porter
Blacklist (NBC)

Mark Snow
Blue Bloods (CBS)

David Fleming
Chicago Fire (NBC)

Claudio Olachea
Chicago PD (NBC)

Antonio Beliveau, Dan Foliart & Howard Pearl
The Conners (ABC)

Marc Fantini, Steffan Fantini & Scott Gordon
Criminal Minds (CBS)

Rob Duncan
The Crossing (ABC)

Jeff Lingle
Designated Survivor (ABC)

Mark Snow
Elementary (CBS)

Jared Gutstadt
Ellen’s Game of Games (NBC)


Dan Romer
The Good Doctor (ABC)

James Levine
Instinct (CBS)

Joshua Atchley, Russell Emanuel
Little Big Shots (NBC)

Brian Lapin
Madam Secretary (CBS)

Jay Ferguson & James Levine
NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS)

Jefferson Friedman
New Amsterdam (NBC)

Wendy Melvoin & Lisa Coleman
Shades of Blue (NBC)

David Vanacore
Survivor (CBS)

Bob Thiele Jr.
Superior Donuts (CBS)

Rob Duncan
S.W.A.T. (CBS)

Jared Gutstadt, Jeff Peters, Martijn Schimmer & Jordan Sears
The Voice (NBC)

Michael Lord & Fred Coury
The Wall (NBC)

Scott Icenogle & Lior Rosner
Will & Grace (NBC)

Jeff Cardoni
Young Sheldon (CBS)


Mark Petrie
90 Day Fiance: Before 90 Days (TLC)

Didier Leplae
Ballmastrz: 9009 (Adult Swim)

Jeffrey Hayat & Dennis McCarthy
Curse of Oak Island (History)

Michael Brook, Kari Kimmel
The Fosters (Freeform)

Didier Lean Rachou
Gold Rush: Parker’s Trail (Discovery)

Elvin Ross
If Loving You Is Wrong (OWN)

David Vanacore, Joseph Greenier & Brandon Thompson
Ink Master (Paramount)

Russell Emanuel, Joshua Atchley, David Vanacore, & Brandon Thompson
Live PD (A&E)

James Levine
Major Crimes (TNT)

Bob Thiele Jr.
Mayans M.C. (FX)

Jorge Eduardo Murguia-Pedraza
Mi Marido Tiene Familia (Univision)

Jared Gutstadt
Project Runway: All Stars (Lifetime)

Gustavo Bolivar & Robert Taylor
Sin Senos Sí Hay Paraíso (Telemundo)

Ryan Shore
Star Wars: Forces of Destiny (Disney Channel)

Alex Ebert, Tim Anderson & Filip Nikolic
Suits (USA

Daniel Chan
Supergirl (CW)

Tim Cullen
Teen Mom OG (MTV)

Ron Wasserman, Elizabeth Gerrard & Matthew Gerrard
The Thundermans (NICK)

Bear McCreary
The Walking Dead (AMC)

John Sereda
When Calls The Heart (Hallmark)


Honoring ASCAP composers with music from the top box office films of 2018

Rupert Gregson-Williams

Dario Marianelli

Jon Brion & Geoff Zanelli
Disney’s Christopher Robin

Kevin Lax
The First Purge

John Carpenter, Cody Carpenter

Hotel Transylvania 3: Summer Vacation

Michael Giacchino
Incredibles 2

Anne Dudley
Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again

Marc Shaiman
Mary Poppins Returns

John Paesano
Maze Runner: The Death Cure

Lorne Balfe
Mission: Impossible - Fallout

Leon Ko
Monster Hunt 2

Daniel Pemberton - Ocean’s 8

Elliot Leung
Operation Red Sea

Lorne Balfe
Pacific Rim Uprising

Dario Marianelli
Paddington 2

Henry Jackman
The Predator

Marco Beltrami
A Quiet Place

Henry Jackman
Ralph Breaks the Internet

Heitor Pereira

Daniel Pemberton
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

John Powell
Solo: A Star Wars Story

Junkie XL
Tomb Raider



2018 Film Score of the Year Nominees

Marco Beltrami
A Quiet Place

Nicholas Britell
If Beale Street Could Talk

Jóhann Jóhannsson

Marc Shaiman
Mary Poppins Returns

Lorne Balfe
Mission: Impossible - Fallout

John Powell
Solos: A Star Wars Story

2018 TV Composer of the Year Nominees

Nicholas Britell

Jeff Cardoni

John Debney 

Bear McCreary

Mateo Messina

Daniel Pemberton

Didier Lean Rachou

2018 Video Game Score of the Year Nominees

Jon Everist

Lena Raine

Skye Lewin, Michael Salvatori
Destiny 2: Forsaken

Bear McCreary
God of War

Garry Schyman

Read the official ASCAP Screen Music Awards rules