2018 ASCAP Screen Music Awards

The greatest names in modern film, television and video game music gathered in Beverly HIlls on May 23 as we honored the extended ASCAP film/TV music family at the 2018 ASCAP Screen Music Awards.

Our big winner was composer John Powell, who won the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award recipient for his 20+ years of brilliant film scores - including all five Bourne films, the How to Train Your Dragon and Ice Age series, and the upcoming Solo: A Star Wars Story. Multi-faceted music creator Germaine Franco, the co-orchestrator, arranger, producer and co-songwriter for Coco, earned the ASCAP Shirley Walker Award for kicking down doors for more diversity in film/TV music through her achievements and advocacy. 

Throughout the night, we celebrated the ASCAP members behind the biggest projects on every A/V platform. Heitor Pereira (Top Box Office Film, Despicable Me 3), Trent Reznor (Top Cable TV Series, The Vietnam War), Dan Romer (Top Network TV Series, The Good Doctor) and David Vanacore (Most Performed Themes & Underscore) took top honors.

We also revealed our fifth annual ASCAP Composers’ Choice Award winners, determined by the ASCAP composer community: Dave Porter (Better Call Saul, The Blacklist, Preacher) took home his second TV Composer of the Year honor, Jonny Greenwood and Hans Zimmer tied for Film Score of the Year for Phantom Thread and Dunkirk respectively; and Gordy Haab was presented with the Video Game Score of the Year award for Star Wars Battlefront II.

But in a night full of highlights, it was the live performances that truly made the ASCAP Screen Music Awards unforgettable. Franco took the baton for a vivid medley of her music to Coco, the upcoming film TAG and the new series Vida. We heard a suite of music from The Good Doctor, enlivened by Romer’s accordion. Michael Abels performed a disquieting rendition of his opening theme from Get Out, along with a group of musicians and the combined voices of Tonality and DC6. And Powell closed out the night by conducting an orchestral medley of classic Mancini themes. As the audience left the ballroom, Powell’s gorgeous new “Chewie’s Theme” from Solo piped through the PA - a fitting end to a night that celebrated the composers who are carrying the torch of great screen music into the future.

Honoring ASCAP composers whose music has earned the highest number of cumulative domestic performance credits in television in the category of themes and dramatic underscore for the 2017 survey year
Honoring ASCAP composers and songwriters for their themes and underscore from the highest rated series during the period of January 1 - December 31, 2017, and the series that have accumulated the most credits on Amazon, Hulu and Netflix during the 2017 ASCAP survey year.

Dan Romer

Top Network Series Winner - The Good Doctor (ABC)

Trent Reznor

Top Cable Series Winner - The Vietnam War (PBS)

Heitor Pereira

Top Box Office Film Winner - Despicable Me 3

Casey James Basichis
Ashley Eriksson
Tim Kiefer
Pendleton Ward
Adventure Time (Cartoon Network)

Jeffrey Hayat
Alone (History)

Matt Bowen
Mark Petrie
Brad Segal
The Bachelor (ABC)
The Bachelorette (ABC)

Ed Robertson
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)

David Vanacore
Big Brother (CBS)

Dave Porter
The Blacklist (NBC)
The Blacklist: Redemption (NBC)

Mark Snow
Blue Bloods (CBS)

Loren Bouchard
Phil Hernandez
Chris Maxwell
Bob's Burgers (Adult Swim)

Jesse Voccia
Bosch (Amazon)

Olafur Arnalds
Broadchurch (BBC America)

Michael Baiardi
The Challenge (MTV)

David Fleming
Chicago Fire (NBC)

Claudio Olachea
Chicago PD (NBC)

David Vanacore
Counting On (TLC)

Marc Fantini
Steffan Fantini
Scott Gordon
Criminal Minds (CBS)

Marc Fantini
Steffan Fantini
Scott Gordon
Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders (CBS)

Daniel McGrath
Josh Phillips
Brad Segal
Dancing with the Stars (ABC)

Daniel Chan
DC's Legends of Tomorrow (CW)


Keith Horn
Descendants: Wicked World (Disney)

Jeff Lingle
Designated Survivor (ABC)

Mark Snow
Elementary (CBS)

Empire (Fox)

Michael Brook
Kari Kimmel
The Fosters (Freeform)

Michael Berec
Jack Lenz
Good Witch (Hallmark)

Scott Hoffman
The Great Indoors (CBS)

Elvin Ross
The Haves and the Have Nots (Own)

Morton Stevens
Hawaii Five-O (CBS)

Brandon Belsky
Greg Brown
Seth Olansky
Hollywood Medium with Tyler Henry (Bravo)

How to Get Away with Murder (ABC)

Sean Holt
Ronald Schilperoort
Hunter Street (Nickelodeon)

Elik Alvarez
Alexis Estiz
Joaquin Fernandez
Alberto Slezynger
Jenni Rivera: Mariposa De Barrio (Telemundo)

Joshua Atchley
Russell Emanuel
Little Big Shots (NBC)

Russell Emanuel
David Vanacore
Live PD (A&E)

Brian Lapin
Madam Secretary (CBS)

James Levine
Major Crimes (TNT)

Jesse Novak
The Mindy Project (Hulu)


Matthew Hawkins
Maurice "m.O" Jackson
Neil Martin

Jay Ferguson
James Levine
NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS)

Adam Blackstone
Bobby Brown
Larry Johnson
Jamar Jones
Michael "Space Cowboy" Jonzun
The New Edition Story (BET)

Scott Doherty
Brandon Jay
Orange Is the New Black (Netflix)

Jared Gutstadt
Project Runway (Lifetime)

Rob Duncan
S.W.A.T. (CBS)

Gary Koftinoff
Saving Hope (Ion)

Lisa Coleman
Wendy Melvoin
Shades of Blue (NBC)

Tim Anderson
Alex Ebert
Filip Nikolic
Suits (USA)

David Vanacore
Survivor (CBS)

Jaime Vargas Fabila
Alejandro Sanches Mendoza
Gilberto Novelo
Carlos Páramo
Paolo Stefanoni Pinto
Eduardo Mercado Sánchez De Tagle
Jorge Tena Martínez Vara
Vino El Amor (Univision)

Jared Gutstadt
Jeff Peters
Martijn Schimmer
Jordan Sears
The Voice (NBC)

Bear Mccreary
The Walking Dead (AMC)

Scott Icenogle
Lior Rosner
Will & Grace (NBC)

Jeff Cardoni
Young Sheldon (CBS)

Chris Lee
Younger (TV Land)

Didier Lean Rachou
Yukon Men (Discovery)

Honoring ASCAP composers with music from the top box office films of 2017

Jed Kurzel
Alien: Covenant

Benjamin Wallfisch
Annabelle: Creation

Steven Price
Baby Driver

Benjamin Wallfisch
Hans Zimmer
Blade Runner 2049

Steve Mazzaro
Hans Zimmer
The Boss Baby

Germaine Franco
Michael Giacchino

Hans Zimmer

Patrick Doyle
The Emoji Movie

John Powell

Lorne Balfe

Michael Abels
Get Out

John Debney
Benj Pasek
Justin Paul
Joseph Trapanese
The Greatest Showman

Benjamin Wallfisch

Henry Jackman
Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle

Henry Jackman
Matthew Margeson
Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Henry Jackman
Kong: Skull Island

Lorne Balfe
The Lego Batman Movie

Marco Beltrami

Patrick Doyle
Murder on the Orient Express

Geoff Zanelli
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Michael Giacchino
Spider-Man: Homecoming

Michael Giacchino
War for the Planet of the Apes

Joseph Trapanese
Wolf Warrior 2

Marcelo Zarvos

Rupert Gregson-Williams
Wonder Woman


2017 Film Score of the Year

Jon Brion
Lady Bird

Carter Burwell
3 Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Michael Giacchino

Jonny Greenwood
Phantom Thread

Hans Zimmer

2017 TV Composer of the Year Nominees

Jeff Cardoni

John Debney

Rupert Gregson-Williams

Rael Jones

James S. Levine

Bear McCreary

Dave Porter

Mark Snow

Hans Zimmer

2017 Video Game Score of the Year Nominees

Gordy Haab
Halo Wars 2

Gordy Haab
Star Wars: Battlefront II

C. Paul Johnson, Skye Lewin, Michael Salvatori
Destiny 2

Wilbert Roget II
Call of Duty WWII

Sarah Schachner
Assassin's Creed Origins

Austin Wintory
Tooth and Tail

Read the official ASCAP Screen Music Awards rules