2017 Screen Music Awards

ASCAP honored our tremendously talented composers of TV, film and video game music at the Screen Music Awards on Tuesday, May 16. A who’s who of scoring for screens small, silver and everything in between flocked to LA’s historic Wiltern Theatre for a night of dazzling performances, tender tributes and appreciation for the musical masterminds behind America’s favorite screen entertainment.

The ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards, voted on exclusively by ASCAP members, were a dramatic highlight of the evening. Prolific scoremaster Michael Giacchino walked away with the Film Score of the Year title for Zootopia. Didier Lean Rachou won TV Composer of the Year, and the Video Game Score of the Year came out a tie: Tom Salta  (Atlas Plug) and Klayton (Celldweller) for Killer Instinct: Season 3 and C. Paul Johnson, Skye Lewin and Michael Salvatori for Destiny: Rise of Iron both came out on top.

The night’s performances proved to be another special highlight. We heard Benj Pasek & Justin Paul’s songs from La La Land, excerpts from Ben Wallfisch’s Hidden Figures score, and cues from Henry Jackman’s music for Captain America: Civil War. Television music was well represented by cues from 11.22.63 (by Alex Heffes) and Bosch (by Jesse Voccia); the video game music world came out to play with an otherworldly performance of Austin Wintory’s score from Abzu.

But the night belonged to ASCAP legend Stephen Schwartz. The composer/lyricist of musical theatre classics Pippin, Godspell and Wicked and film musicals Pocahontas, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, The Prince of Egypt and Enchanted accepted the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award, following tributes from a star-studded cast of Schwartz’s mentees, admirers and collaborators. The Gay Men’s Chorus of Los Angeles closed out the night in grand style with a medley of timeless songs from Schwartz’s catalog.

ASCAP Founders Award

Stephen Schwartz

Honoring ASCAP composers whose music has earned the highest number of cumulative domestic performance credits in television in the category of themes and dramatic underscore for the 2016 survey year
Honoring ASCAP composers and songwriters for their themes and underscore from the highest rated series during the period of January 1 - December 31, 2016

Top Network Series Winners
Matthew Hawkins,
Maurice “m.O” Jackson
& Neil Martin

Top Cable Series Winner
John Lunn (PRS)
Downton Abbey (PBS)

Top Streaming Series Winners
Scott Doherty & Brandon Jay
Orange Is the New Black (NETFLIX)

11.22.63 (HULU)
Alex Heffes (PRS)

60 Days In (A&E)
Joel Goodman

Adventure Time (CARTOON NETWORK)
Casey Basichis
Ashley Eriksson
Tim Kiefer
Pendleton Ward

American Housewife (ABC)
Orr Rebhun
Erica Weis

American Idol (FOX)
Catherine Dennis (PRS)
Julian Gingell (PRS)
Jeff Lippencott
Barry Stone (PRS)
Mark T. Williams

Awkward (MTV)
Brad Breeck

The Bachelor (ABC)
The Bachelorette (ABC)

Matt Bowen
Brad Segal

The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Ed Robertson (SOCAN)

The Blacklist (NBC)
Dave Porter

Blue Bloods (CBS)
Mark Snow

Bosch (AMAZON)
Jesse Voccia

Castle (ABC)
Robert Duncan

Criminal Minds (CBS)
Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders (CBS)
Marc Fantini
Steffan Fantini
Scott Gordon

CSI: Cyber (CBS)
Peter Townshend (PRS)

The Curse of Oak Island (HISTORY)
Russell Emanuel
Daniel Suett (PRS)
Mel Wesson (PRS)

Dancing with the Stars (ABC)
Daniel McGrath (PRS)
Josh Phillips (PRS)
Brad Segal

Dark Matter (SYFY)
Jody Colero (SOCAN)
Benjamin Pinkerton (SOCAN)

Descendants: Wicked World (DISNEY)
Johan Alkenas (STIM)
Joacim Persson (STIM)

Empire (FOX)

Family Guy (FOX)
Ron Jones
Seth MacFarlane

The Fosters (FREEFORM)
Michael Brook
Kari Kimmel

Good Witch (HALLMARK)
Jack Lenz (SOCAN)

Tony Morley (PRS)
Stefano Ruggeri (PRS)
Rachael Wood

The Great Indoors (CBS)
Scott Hoffman

Greenleaf (OWN)
Tim Lauer

Hawaii Five-0 (CBS)
Morton Stevens

How to Get Away with Murder (ABC)

Limitless (CBS)
Paul Leonard-Morgan (PRS)

Little Big Shots (NBC)
Joshua Atchley
Russell Emanuel

Long Island Medium (TLC)
Didier Lean Rachou

Philip Cimino
Michelle Lewis
Doug Rockwell

Madam Secretary (CBS)
Brian Lapin

The Middle (ABC)
Joey Newman

Mike & Molly (CBS)
Grant Geissman
Josh Kelley

Mysteries of Laura (NBC)
Joey Newman

NCIS: Los Angeles (CBS)
Jay Ferguson

Pasión y Poder (UNIVISION)
Gilberto Novelo

Person of Interest (CBS)
J.J. Abrams

¿Quién es Quién? (TELEMUNDO)
Alexis Estiz
Alberto Slezynger

Rizzoli & Isles (TNT)
Josh Klein
James Levine

Royal Pains (USA)
James Levine

Shades of Blue (NBC)
Lisa Coleman
Wendy Melvoin

Silicon Valley (HBO)
Jeff Cardoni

Supernatural (CW)
Jay Gruska

Survivor (CBS)
Russ Landau
David Vanacore

Timeless (NBC)
Robert Duncan

The Voice (NBC)
Matt Chambless
Jared Gutstadt
Jeff Peters
Schimmer Music Productions

The Walking Dead (AMC)
Bear McCreary

The X-Files (FOX)
Mark Snow

Didier Lean Rachou

Honoring ASCAP composers with music from the top box office films of 2016
Top TV List PressContacts
Top Box Office Films Winner
Captain America: Civil War
Henry Jackman

Joseph Trapanese

The Angry Birds Movie
Heitor Pereira

Jóhann Jóhannsson

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
Hans Zimmer

Bridget Jones’s Baby
Craig Armstrong

The Conjuring 2
Joseph Bishara

Doctor Strange
Michael Giacchino

Don’t Breathe
Roque Baños

Gods of Egypt
Marco Beltrami

Ice Age: Collision Course
John Debney

Hans Zimmer

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back
Henry Jackman

Jason Bourne
John Powell

The Jungle Book
John Debney

Kung Fu Panda 3
Hans Zimmer

The Legend of Tarzan
Rupert Gregson-Williams

The Magnificent Seven
Simon Franglen (PRS)
James Horner

Me Before You
Craig Armstrong

Miss Peregrine’s Home
for Peculiar Children

Michael Higham (PRS)
Matthew Margeson

Lin-Manuel Miranda

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
Michael Giacchino

Joby Talbot (PRS)

Star Trek Beyond
Michael Giacchino

Suicide Squad
Steven Price

Max Martin
Benj Pasek
Justin Paul
Justin Timberlake

Michael Giacchino


2016 Film Score of the Year Nominees

Lesley Barber
Manchester by the Sea

Nicholas Britell

WINNER: Michael Giacchino


Jóhann Jóhannsson

Matt Margeson
Eddie the Eagle

2016 TV Composer of the Year Nominees

Jeff Cardoni

Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein

James Levine

Bear McCreary

Dave Porter

WINNER: Didier Lean Rachou

2016 Video Game Score of the Year Nominees

C. Paul Johnson
Skye Lewin
Michael Salvatori
Destiny: Rise of Iron

John Robert Matz
Fossil Echo

Klayton (Celldweller)
Tom Salta (Atlas Plug)
Killer Instinct: Season 3

Neal Acree
Adam Burgess

Read the official ASCAP Screen Music Awards rules