Read the ASCAP London Music Awards press release

2016 ASCAP London Music Awards

On November 10, hit songwriters and industry movers and shakers gathered at One Embankment to toast the creators of the most groundbreaking and successful ASCAP music coming from the UK at the ASCAP London Music Awards. We honored the legendary Duran Duran with the prestigious ASCAP Golden Note Award, for their 35+ years of global pop supremacy. Prolific young writer-producer MNEK and breakout singer-songwriter Jess Glynne were honored with the ASCAP Vanguard Award, recognizing their impact on developing genres that are shaping the future of music. Glynne also won an award for her song “Hold My Hand.”

Songwriter James Newman took home the Top EDM Song Award for his hit penned with Calvin Harris, “Blame.” Young songwriters Michael Hannides, Anthony Hannides, Levi Lennox and Joe Garrett snagged the Global Impact Award, in recognition of their work writing Zayn Malik’s worldwide sensation “PILLOWTALK.” Welsh songwriter Amy Wadge earned Song of the Year for her 2016 Grammy-winning collaboration with Ed Sheeran, “Thinking Out Loud.” She also took home our Top Digital Song award for the song.

The full list of 2016 ASCAP London Music Awards winners:

  • ASCAP Golden Note Award – Duran Duran
  • ASCAP Vanguard Award – Jess Glynne
  • ASCAP Vanguard Award – MNEK
  • ASCAP Global Impact Award – Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox, Joe Garrett ("PILLOWTALK" by Zayn Malik)
  • ASCAP Song of the Year – Amy Wadge ("Thinking Out Loud" by Ed Sheeran)
  • ASCAP Top Digital Song – Amy Wadge ("Thinking Out Loud" by Ed Sheeran)
  • ASCAP Top EDM Song – James Newman ("Blame" by Calvin Harris ft. John Newman)
  • ASCAP Film Score of the Year – Patrick Doyle (Cinderella)
  • ASCAP EDM Song Award – Jess Glynne ("Hold My Hand")
  • ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs
    • Thomas William Raybould ("The Hills" by The Weeknd)
    • Lloyd Oliver Wills, Everton Bonner ("Post To Be" by Omarion ft. Chris Brown & Jhene Aiko)
    • Sir Paul McCartney ("FOURFIVESECONDS" by Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney)
    • Joel Pott ("Budapest" by George Ezra)
    • Ella Henderson (‘Ghost’ by Ella Henderson)
  • ASCAP EDM Winning Songs
    • Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion ("A Sky Full of Stars" by Coldplay)
    • Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy, Emre Turkmen ("King" by Years And Years)
    • Marli Harwood ("Stole The Show" by Kygo ft. Parson James)
    • Philip Bentley ("Secrets" by Tiësto & KSHMR ft. Vassy)
  • ASCAP Top Film Music Awards
    • Lorne Balfe (Home (2015), Terminator Genisys)
    • Daniel Pemberton (The Man From U.N.C.L.E)
    • Martin Phipps (Woman In Gold)
    • Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow (Ex Machina)
  • ASCAP Top Television Series Awards
    • Julian Gingell, Barry Stone (American Idol (Fox))
    • Daniel McGrath, Josh Phillips (Dancing With The Stars (ABC))
    • John Lunn (Downton Abbey (PBS))

Read the official ASCAP London Music Awards rules