2015 Concert Music Awards

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) held its 16th annual Concert Music Awards on Thursday, May 21st, 2015 at Merkin Concert Hall at the Kaufman Center in New York City. ASCAP member, composer, conductor and radio broadcast journalist Bill McGlaughlin will host the invitation-only event, which recognizes the achievements of ASCAP’s 2015 concert music honorees, who represent the concert music world’s diverse aesthetic spectrum.

Among the evening's presenters will be renowned composers Lisa Bielawa, Charles Fussell, James Matheson, Paul Moravec and Robert Sirota; ASCAP Board members James M. Kendrick and Alex Shapiro; ASCAP executives CEO Elizabeth Matthews and EVP of Membership John Titta; and the ASCAP Concert Music department’s Cia Toscanini, Frances Richard and Michael Spudic.

The 2015 Concert Music Awards honorees are:

Julia Wolfe

ASCAP salutes distinguished Member Julia Wolfe, awarded the 2015 Pulitzer Prize in Music for Anthracite Fields and the 2015 Herb Alpert Award.

American Contemporary Music Ensemble (ACME)

ASCAP honors ACME in their 10th Anniversary Season for the virtuosity, passion and commitment with which they perform and champion American composers.

The 2015 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards Recipients

The ASCAP Foundation program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age.

All of the Morton Gould Award-winning composers will be recognized at the event. They share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth generously dedicated the royalties from his great standards "Shine on Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" to benefit gifted, emerging composers. Award winners receive complimentary copies of Sibelius notation software, generously donated by Avid, the company that creates technology used to make the most listened to, most watched and most loved music and media in the world.

The 2015 Morton Gould Young Composer Award winnersare listed with their current residenceand place of origin: Anahita Abbasi of San Diego, CA (Shiraz, Iran); Timo Andres of Brooklyn, NY (Palo Alto, CA); Katherine Balch of New Haven, CT (San Diego, CA); Yihan Chen of Bloomington, IN (Changzhou, China); Jaehyuck Choi of New York, NY (Gwacheon, South Korea); TJ Cole of Philadelphia, PA (Athens, GA); Erin Graham of Rochester, NY (Lewisburg, PA); Saad Haddad of New York, NY (Los, Angeles, CA); Brian Heim of New Haven, CT (Brownsville, MN); David Hertzberg of Philadelphia, PA (Santa Monica, CA); Andrew Hsu of Philadelphia, PA (Fremont, CA); Jay Hurst of Bloomington, IN (Cape Canaveral, FL); Evan Ingalls of Bellingham, WA; Sun Bin Kim of Ringwood, NJ (Seoul, South Korea); Scott Lee of Durham, NC (St. Petersburg, FL); Austin O’Rourke of Fredericksburg, VA (Culpeper, VA); Nina Shekhar of Ann Arbor, MI (Northville, MI); Shen Yiwen of New York, NY (Shanghai, China); Daniel Silliman of Los Angeles, CA (Syracuse, NY); Gabriella Smith of Princeton, NJ (Berkeley, CA); Andrew Stock of Cleveland, OH (St. Louis, MO); Jason Thorpe Buchanan of Hudson, NY (San Mateo, CA); and Gabriel Zucker of Brooklyn, NY (New York, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 13 to 16 and are listed by state of residence:

Emily Bear age 13 (IL); Michael Jon Bennett age 16(NY);
JP Redmond age 15 (NY); Karalyn Schubring age 15 (AZ); and Renata Vallecillo age 15(AZ).

The following composers received Honorable Mention:

Eleanor Bragg age 18 (MA); Scott Feiner age 17 (NY); Tengku Irfan age 16 (NY); Paris Lavidis age 13 (NY); Vaibhav Mohanty age 16 (SC); Avik Sarkar age 14 (MA); and Lauren Vandervelden age 15 (ID).

The 2015 ASCAP composer/judges were: Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, Sebastian Currier,Daniel Felsenfeld, Robert Paterson, Alvin Singleton and Aleksandra Vrebalov.


The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP’s mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world’s best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business – from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 530,000 members representing more than 9 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. www.ascap.com

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

Read the official ASCAP Concert Awards rules