ASCAP Country Superstars Win Big at 2020 CMA Awards

November 11, 2020

ASCAP country music’s brightest stars came out for the 2020 Country Music Association Awards. Hosted by ASCAP members Reba McEntire and Darius Rucker, the Awards witnessed six ASCAP acts take home trophies, including a lifetime achievement honor for the legendary Charley Pride. 


+See full coverage of ASCAP’s Country Music Awards, happening Nov. 9-12 @ascap

Though the in-person audience was sparse and socially distanced, the performances at the CMA Awards invited us into the room, capturing the intimacy and energy that we miss so much about hearing music live. And so many of the highlights came from ASCAP country all-stars. From Dierks Bentley's show-opening tribute to Charlie Daniels, to the mesmerizing duet between Chris and Morgane Stapleton on “Starting Over;” from Carly Pearce’s searing performance of “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” to the combustible “All Night” by Brothers Osborne; from a soul-baring “10,000 Hours” performance by Dan + Shay with Justin Bieber (shot at an empty Hollywood Bowl in LA), to Kelsea Ballerini’s raucous “Hole in the Bottle” - ASCAP country music was front and center at the CMAs, moving our feet and our hearts, as always. 

Congratulations to all of our winners! 

Single of the Year

“The Bones” 

Greg Kurstin, producer/mix engineer

Song of the Year

“The Bones” 

Co-written by Jimmy Robbins

Vocal Group of the Year

Old Dominion (Matthew Ramsey, Trevor Rosen, Whit Sellers, Geoff Sprung & Brad Tursi)

Vocal Duo of the Year

Dan + Shay

Musical Event of the Year

“I Hope You’re Happy Now”

Carly Pearce

Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award 

Charley Pride

See the full list of nominees and winners at