Gabriel Yared

Cynthia Erivo

Ana Kasrashvili

ASCAP Film Music Family Scores Five World Soundtrack Awards

October 29, 2020

Congratulations to our global film music family on their triumphs at the 2020 World Soundtrack Awards, one of film music’s most prestigious honors!

Five ASCAP members and international affiliates won coveted trophies at the 20th annual (and first-ever virtual) edition of the awards. 

Among ASCAP’s winners were Lifetime Achievement Honoree Gabriel Yared, the Oscar-winning composer of masterful scores to The English Patient, Cold Mountain and The Talented Mr. Ripley; Cynthia Erivo, whose anthemic “Stand Up” (from Harriet) won Best Original Song, in the same year it was nominated for the Oscar and Golden Globe; Bryce Dessner, whose acclaimed scores complement his work as guitarist for The National; and Spanish composer Alfonso G. Aguilar, for his score to the Oscar-nominated animated film Klaus.

We are especially proud of Ana Kasrashvili, winner of the SABAM Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer. We got to know Ana well when she participated in the 2017 ASCAP Film Scoring Workshop - we’re thrilled to see her career continuing to flourish!

Congrats to all of our winners!

Gabriel Yared (SACEM)

Lifetime Achievement Award

(watch the WSA Talks conversation about his creative process)

Cynthia Erivo (PRS)

Best Original Song

“Stand Up” from Harriet

Alfonso G. Aguilar (SGAE)

Public Choice


Bryce Dessner

Discovery of the Year

The Two Popes

Ana Kasrashvili

SABAM Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer


Click to watch the entire livestream of the 20th annual World Soundtrack Awards.