ASCAP Members Anthony Davis and Michael R. Jackson Win 2020 Pulitzer Prizes

May 5, 2020

We are thrilled to congratulate ASCAP composers Anthony Davis and Michael R. Jackson for winning the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in music and drama, respectively. The prestigious honor, awarded annually in 22 categories and administered by Columbia University, comes with a $15,000 prize.

Davis won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Music for The Central Park Five, described by the Pulitzer jury as “a courageous operatic work, marked by powerful vocal writing and sensitive orchestration, that skillfully transforms a notorious example of contemporary injustice into something empathetic and hopeful. Read more about Davis and his winning work here

Jackson, an ASCAP Foundation Harold Adamson Award winner, won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Drama for A Strange Loop, his “metafictional musical that tracks the creative process of an artist transforming issues of identity, race, and sexuality that once pushed him to the margins of the cultural mainstream into a meditation on universal human fears and insecurities.” Read more about Jackson and his winning work here.

A tip of the hat to our Pulitzer finalists Alex Weiser (for his song cycle and all the days were purple), and David Henry Hwang & Jeanine Tesori (for their musical Soft Power).

Read the full list of 2020 Pulitzer Prize winners here