ASCAP Unites Composers and Filmmakers at 2020 Sundance Cocktail Reception

By Erik Philbrook, ASCAP Editor in Chief  •  January 29, 2020

On Monday, January 27th, ASCAP hosted its 2020 Sundance Composer-Filmmaker Cocktail Reception, an exclusive after-show event, at the Sundance ASCAP Music Café in Park City, Utah. A large group of creators behind some this year’s most acclaimed and buzz-worthy films at this year’s festival, as well as Music Café performers gathered to meet, share stories from the field and enjoy food prepared by Del Taco.

Later in the week, after 10 days and 128 feature films, the Sundance Film Festival’s closing ceremony honored some of this year’s most impactful and extraordinary films. ASCAP composers whose music graced many of this year’s winning films included: Bear McCreary, who scored Crip Camp, winner of the Audience Award: US Documentary; Nainita Desai, who scored The Reason I Jump, winner of The Audience Award: World Cinema Documentary; Jay Wadley, who scored I Carry You With Me, winner of The Audience Award: NEXT and the NEXT Innovator Prize; Courtney Bryan, who scored The 40-Year-Old-Version, winner of The Directing Award: US Dramatic; Alex Somers, who scored Charm City Kings, which won a US Dramatic Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast; Olivier Alary, who scored Softie, winner of a World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Editing; and Uno Helmersson, who scored The Painter and the Thief, winner of a World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Creative Storytelling.


Other ASCAP composers who worked on award-winning films include John Paesano, who scored Tesla, winner of the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize; Amine Bouhafa (SACEM), who scored the Short Film Grand Jury Prize-winning So What If the Goats Die; Zsuzsanna Varkonyi (SACEM), who scored Epicentro, which won the World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary; Gustavo Santaolalla and Juan Luqui, who scored The Fight, winner of the US Documentary Special Jury Award for Social Impact Filmmaking; and Antonio Pinto, who scored Nine Days, which won the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award.

All photos by Fred Hayes.

See ASCAP’s Composer Spotlight @ 2020 Sundance Film Festival

See coverage of the 2020 Sundance ASCAP Music Café

ASCAP @ Sundance 2020

There's no place like home.

Head back to the landing page