Garth Brooks Wins Seventh Entertainer of the Year Award at 53rd CMAs

November 22, 2019

Legendary ASCAP songwriter-artist Garth Brooks earned an unprecedented seventh Entertainer of the Year Award at the 53rd annual CMA Awards, which was co-hosted by ASCAP and CMA Award-winning songwriter-artist Reba McEntire and aired live on ABC on Wed., Nov. 13 from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

Dan + Shay, who performed their hit “Tequila” at the ASCAP Country Music Awards earlier that week, were named the CMA’s top Vocal Duo of the Year and were also nominated in multiple categories.

Vocal Group of the Year Old Dominion picked up another trophy in that category to boast their second consecutive win. The group’s Matthew Ramsey and Trevor Rosen were also named the 2019 ASCAP Country Music Songwriter-Artists of the Year.

Click here for complete coverage of ASCAP’s 57th Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards

Crossover producers and hitmakers Greg Kurstin and Trent Reznor earned CMA Awards for Album of the Year and Musical Event of the Year, respectively, and Nashville’s own Bobby Bones was crowned CMA Broadcast Personality (National) of the Year.

Congratulations to all of ASCAP’s 2019 CMA Awards winners and nominees:
(bold text indicates winners)

Entertainer Of The Year
Garth Brooks
Chris Stapleton

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Chris Stapleton

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Maddie & Tae

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Old Dominion
Zac Brown Band

New Artist of the Year
Carly Pearce

Album of the Year
Girl – Greg Kurstin (producer)
Center Point Road – Dann Huff, The Stereotypes (producers)
Cry Pretty – David Garcia (producer)
Dan + Shay – Dan + Shay, Dan Smyers (producer)

Song of the Year
"Girl" – songwriter: Greg Kurstin
"God’s Country" – songwriter: Jordan Schmidt
"Tequila" – songwriters: Dan Smyers, Jordan Reynolds

Single of the Year
"Burning Man" – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne; F. Reid Shippen (mix engineer)
“Girl” – Greg Kurstin (producer, mix engineer)
“Millionaire” – Chris Stapleton; Chris Stapleton, Vance Powell (producers)
“Speechless” – Dan + Shay; Dan Smyers (producer)

Musical Event of the Year
"Old Town Road (Remix)" – Trent Reznor (producer)
“All My Favorite People” – Brothers Osborne
“Brand New Man” – Dann Huff (producer)
“Dive Bar” – Garth Brooks; Garth Brooks (producer)
“What Happens in a Small Town” – Dann Huff (producer)

Music Video of the Year
“Burning Man” – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne

Musician of the Year
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Ilya Toshinskiy, Banjo/Guitar

Broadcast Personality of the Year (National)
Bobby Bones