ASCAP Composers Dominate 2019 World Soundtrack Awards

By Etan Rosenbloom, Director & Deputy Editor, Marketing & Communications  •  October 22, 2019

The brightest talents in film music took center stage during the 2019 World Soundtrack Awards on October 18, the centerpiece event of the Ghent Film Festival and one of the world’s most prestigious honors for film composers.

Fresh off his Emmy win for his theme to Succession, Nicholas Britell was named Best Film Composer of the Year. The win follows his Discovery of the Year honor at the 2017 World Soundtrack Awards. Us composer Michael Abels and ASCAP Henry Mancini Award laureate John Powell both earned major awards, and Anthony Rossomando added yet another trophy to his mantle for co-writing “Shallow” from A Star Is Born.

Outside the competitive categories, the ASCAP screen music family was well-represented at the WSAs. Marco Beltrami was given the royal treatment, as the Brussels Philharmonic under the baton of Dirk Brossé performed a full concert dedicated his scores for The Homesman, World War Z, Scream, Free Solo, Snowpiercer, Ben-Hur and more.

The concert also featured excerpts by the two Lifetime Achievement Award recipients: Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki, known for his outré contemporary classical works and their use in iconic films and series like The Shining, The Exorcist, Shutter Island and Twin Peaks, and Belgian film legend Frédéric Devreese.

Congratulations to all of our winners!

Best Film Composer of the Year
Nicholas Britell for If Beale Street Could Talk; Vice

Discovery of the Year
Michael Abels for Us

Public Choice Award
John Powell for How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

Best Original Song Written for a Film
Anthony Rossomando
Shallow” from A Star Is Born

Lifetime Achievement Awards:
Krzysztof Penderecki (GEMA) & Frédéric Devreese (SABAM)

See ASCAP's full list of 2019 nominees.

Find out more about the World Soundtrack Awards here