RC Cates

John Kavanaugh

Michelle Lewis

29 ASCAP Members Nominated for Daytime Emmys

March 29, 2019

Hats off to the 29 ASCAP songwriters and composers whose work was shortlisted for the 46th Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards!

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) honored ASCAP members with nominations in all five music categories, reflecting excellence in songwriting, composition, music direction, music supervision and live performances on the small screen.

Among the nominees are RC Cates and John Kavanaugh, who earned two nods apiece. And a special shout-out to ASCAP Board member Michelle Lewis, who received her second career Daytime Emmy nomination for her music from The Loud House.

The Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony will be held on May 3, 2019 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

Congratulations to all of our nominees!

Outstanding Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series

Paul Antonelli, Music Director
Ken Corday & D. Brent Nelson, Composers
Days of Our Lives

Paul Glass, Supervising Music Director/Composer
Dave MacLeod, Music Director
Kevin Bents, Kurt Biederwolf, Steven Hopkins, Matt McGuire, David Norland & Bobby Summerfield, Composers
General Hospital

RC Cates, Music Supervisor & Composer
Rick Krizman & Gaye Tolan Hatfield, Composers
The Young and the Restless

Outstanding Music Direction and Composition

Christopher Willis, Composer
Disney Mickey Mouse

Michelle Lewis & Doug Rockwell, Composers
The Loud House

Federico Jusid, Composer
Watership Down

Outstanding Original Song

Anthony Ferrari & Casey Kasprzyk, Composers & Lyricists
“You're the One” from The Bold and the Beautiful

Genesee Nelson, Composer & Lyricist
“Goodbye” from Days of Our Lives

Wesley Whatley, Composer & Lyricist
“We Believe” from 92nd Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade

RC Cates & Cait Baunoch, Composers & Lyricists
Sara Bibel & Mal Young, Lyricists
“How Could A Lie Feel So True” from The Young and the Restless

Outstanding Original Song in a Children’s or Animated Program

John Kavanaugh, Composer
Kerri Grant, Lyricist
“Fallin' Like a Rock” from Elena of Avalor

John Kavanaugh, Composer
“For One and All” from Disney Sofia the First

J. Walter Hawkes, Composer
“The Thrill of Invention” from Peg+Cat

Outstanding Musical Performance in a Daytime Program

Lindsey Stirling
“Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy” on LIVE with Kelly and Ryan