Missy Elliott

Stephen Flaherty & Lynn Ahrens

Mike Love

13 ASCAP Legends Nominated for 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame

November 8, 2018


The best-selling female rapper of all time. An original Beach Boy. An architect of the Muscle Shoals Sound. One of the most respected creative teams in modern musical theatre history.

These are just a few of the 13 ASCAP songwriting legends up for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame class of 2019. Their music hails from all over the genre spectrum, but each and every one is an acknowledged master of the songwriting craft.

To qualify for induction, a songwriter must be a published writer for a minimum of 20 years with a notable catalog of hit songs. Eligible Songwriters Hall of Fame voting members have until midnight on December 17, 2018 to turn in ballots with their choices of three nominees from a songwriter and three from a performing songwriter category.

Here are the 13 ASCAP songwriters on the ballot, plus some of the best known works in their catalogs:

Performing Songwriters

  • Missy Elliott - "Get Ur Freak On," "Work It," "Sock It To Me," "Where My Girls At?," "Free Yourself"

  • Chrissie Hynde (PRS) - "Brass In Pocket," "Talk Of The Town," "Back On The Chain Gang," "I’ll Stand By You," "My City Was Gone"
  • Yusuf Islam (aka Cat Stevens) (PRS) - "Moonshadow," "Morning Has Broken," "Peace Train," "The First Cut Is the Deepest ," "Wild World"
  • Annie Lennox (for her work in The Eurythmics) (PRS) - "Here Comes The Rain Again," "Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)," "Would I Lie To You," "Missionary Man," "Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves"
  • Mike Love - "California Girls," "Good Vibrations," "Help Me Rhonda," "I Get Around," "Fun, Fun, Fun"
  • Jeff Lynne - "Evil Woman," "Mr. Blue Sky," "Don’t Bring Me Down," "Turn to Stone," "Livin’ Thing"


  • Lynn Ahrens & Stephen Flaherty - scores for Once on This Island, Ragtime, Seussical, Anastasia, My Favorite Year
  • Roger Nichols - "We’ve Only Just Begun," "Rainy Days and Mondays," "I Won’t Last a Day Without You," "Let Me Be the One," "Out in the Country"
  • Spooner Oldham - "Cry Like a Baby," "Sweet Inspiration," "I’m Your Puppet," "It Tears Me Up," "A Woman Left Lonely"
  • P.F. Sloan & Steve Barri - "Secret Agent Man," "Eve Of Destruction," "Where Were You When I Needed You," "You Baby (Nobody But You)," "A Must to Avoid"
  • Jack Tempchin - "Peaceful Easy Feeling," "Already Gone," "The One You Love," "Smuggler’s Blues," "You Belong to the City"

The official inductees will be announced at a later date. The SHOF’s Annual Induction & Awards Gala takes place on June 13, 2019 in New York City.

Click here to read bios and see the full list of 2019 nominees