Carter Burwell

Film Composer of the Year nominee

Jonny Greenwood

Film Composer of the Year nominee

Jóhann Jóhannsson

Film Composer of the Year nominee

18 ASCAP Screen Music Greats Earn World Soundtrack Awards Noms

September 18, 2018

It’s another terrific awards season for ASCAP’s global family of film music mavens! The World Soundtrack Academy has nominated 18 ASCAP members and international affiliates for its 2018 World Soundtrack Awards, one of the most prestigious film music honors in Europe.

We are thrilled to see many of ASCAP’s best and brightest in the nominations pool, including ASCAP Henry Mancini Award laureates Carter Burwell, Patrick Doyle and John Powell; ASCAP Founders Award winner Diane Warren; ASCAP Vanguard Award honoree Kendrick Lamar, and also Stefan French, a 2015 participant in our Film Scoring Workshop with Richard Bellis!

In addition to the seven main categories, a Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to SACEM/ASCAP affiliate Philippe Sarde. The ceremony will conclude with a concert performed by the Brussels Philharmonic, playing the oeuvre of Carter Burwell. In keeping with tradition, ASCAP composer Nicholas Britell, winner of the Discovery of the Year Award 2017 for his score to Moonlight, will close the ceremony with an exclusive performance.

Congratulations to all of our nominated composers and songwriters:


Best Film Composer of the Year

Carter Burwell
Goodbye Christopher Robin; Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Jonny Greenwood (PRS)
Phantom Thread

Jóhann Jóhannsson
Last and First Men; Mandy; Mary Magdalene; The Butcher, the Whore and the One-Eyed Man; The Mercy
Read our interview with Jóhannsson, which goes into his work on The Mercy

Best TV Composer of the Year

Volker Bertelmann aka Hauschka
Gunpowder; Patrick Melrose

Rupert Gregson-Williams
The Alienist (S1); The Crown (S2, co-composed with Lorne Balfe)

Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film

Patrick Doyle (PRS) & Kenneth Branagh (PRS)
“Never Forget” from Murder on the Orient Express
Read Kenneth Branagh’s account of writing the song on

Kendrick Lamar & Mark Anthony Spears
“Black Panther” from Black Panther

Benj Pasek & Justin Paul
“This Is Me” from The Greatest Showman

Diane Warren
“Stand up for Something” from Marshall

Best Original Score for a Belgian Production

Girl by Valentin Hadjadj (SACEM)

Discovery of the Year 2018

Valentin Hadjadj (SACEM)


Amelia Warner (PRS)
Mary Shelley

SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer

Stefan French (IMRO)

Logan Nelson

Public Choice Award

James Edward Barker (PRS)
Lean on Pete

John Powell
Solo: A Star Wars Story


Read the entire list of nominees here.