Ryan Stevenson performs "Eye of the Storm" at the 2017 ASCAP Christian Music Awards

Trip Lee

(l-r) ASCAP CEO Beth Matthews, Reba McEntire and ASCAP EVP, Membership John Titta at the 2017 ASCAP Christian Music Awards

ASCAP Songwriters Win 15 Dove Awards

October 19, 2017

On October 18, the Gospel Music Association honored 15 ASCAP songwriters with 10 awards across the Christian music genre spectrum.

Among the big winners were David Garcia, a past ASCAP Christian Music Songwriter of the Year, who took home two Dove trophies; Ryan Stevenson, whose "Eye of the Storm" earned Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year, just weeks after he performed it at our Christian Music Awards; and Reba McEntire, a past winner of the prestigious ASCAP Golden Note Award.

Congratulations to all of our winners!

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year
Sing It Now: Songs Of Faith And Hope - Reba McEntire

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year
Let Them Fall in Love - Tommy Sims (songwriter)

Musical/Choral Collection of the Year
For the Sake of Love, Camp Kirkland & Steve Mauldin

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year
Lifer - Ben Glover, David Garcia (producers)

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year
“Eye of the Storm" – Ryan Stevenson (feat. GabeReal); Ryan Stevenson (songwriter)

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year 
The Waiting Room – Trip Lee; Gabriel Azucena, James Foye III, Joseph Prielozny (producers)

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year
“Oh Lord” – David Garcia (songwriter)

Spanish Language Album of the Year
Confío – Jaci Velasquez; Chris Bevins (songwriter)

Urban Worship Recorded Song of the Year
“Joy” – Pat Barrett (songwriter)

Worship Album of the Year
Never Lose Sight – Jeremy Edwardson (songwriter)

+See all of ASCAP's nominees for this year's Dove Awards