TV Academy Nominates 24 ASCAP Writers for 2017 Emmys

July 13, 2017

Pictured above (l-r): Martin Phipps, Michael Stein & Kyle Dixon, Michael Bearden

The Television Academy just announced that 24 ASCAP-licensed composers and songwriters have been nominated for the 69th annual Primetime Emmys, across the five music categories.

Nabbing multiple nominations this year is British composer Martin Phipps, for his acclaimed music for Victoria (Masterpiece). We're also thrilled to see ASCAP workshop grads Jack Dolgen (an ASCAP Lester Sill Workshop alum) and Michael Bearden (an ASCAP Film Scoring Workshop with Richard Bellis grad) earning nods for their work on Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and the Super Bowl LI Halftime Show Starring Lady Gaga. We knew them when!

The 69th Emmy Awards will telecast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, Sunday, September 17 (8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT) on CBS. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony - including all the music categories - will air Saturday, September 16 at 8:00 PM ET/PT on FXX.

Congrats to all of our 2017 Emmy nominees!

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)

The Crown • "Hyde Park Corner" • Netflix
Rupert Gregson-Williams

Taboo • "Episode 1" • FX Networks
Max Richter 

Victoria (Masterpiece) • "Doll 123" • PBS
Martin Phipps (PRS), Ruth Barrett (PRS), Natalie Holt (PRS)

Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

Five Came Back • "The Price Of Victory" • Netflix Entertainment 
Jeremy Turner

Suite Française • Lifetime
Rael Jones (PRS)

The White Helmets • Netflix
Patrick Jonsson (PRS)

Outstanding Music Direction 

Super Bowl LI Halftime Show Starring Lady Gaga • FOX
Michael Bearden

Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics 

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend • "When Will Josh and His Friend Leave Me Alone?" / Song Title: "We Tapped That Ass" • CW
Adam Schlesinger, Music & Lyrics
Jack Dolgen

Duck The Halls: A Mickey Mouse Christmas Special • Song Title: "Jing-A-Ling-A-Ling" • Disney Channel
Christopher Willis, Music & Lyrics
Paul Rudish, Lyrics

Jimmy Kimmel Live • Jessica Chastain/Willie Nelson/Hunter Hayes / Song Title: "The Ballad of Claus Jorstad (Devil Stool)" • ABC 
Jonathan Kimmel, Music & Lyrics

Saturday Night Live • Host: Casey Affleck / Song Title: "Last Christmas" • NBC
Kenan Thompson, Lyrics 
Will Stephen, Lyrics

13th • Song Title: "Letter to the Free" • Netflix
Karriem Riggins, Music

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt • "Kimmy’s Roommate Lemonades!" / Song Title: "Hell No" • Netflix Gears 
Jeff Richmond, Music
Tina Fey, Lyrics
Sam Means, Lyrics

Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

Genius • National Geographic
Hans Zimmer, Theme by
Lorne Balfe (PRS), Theme by 

Stranger Things • Netflix
Michael Stein, Theme by
Kyle Dixon, Theme by 

Victoria (Masterpiece) • PBS
Martin Phipps (PRS), Theme by 


Outstanding Music Supervision

Better Call Saul • "Sunk Costs"
Thomas Golubić, Music Supervisor

Big Little Lies • "You Get What You Need"
Susan Jacobs, Music Supervisor

Girls • "Goodbye Tour"
Manish Raval, Music Supervisor
Jonathan Leahy, Music Supervisor
Tom Wolfe, Music Supervisor

Master of None • "Amarsi Un Po"
Zach Cowie, Music Supervisor
Kerri Drootin, Music Supervisor

Stranger Things • "Chapter Two: The Weirdo on Maple Street"
Nora Felder, Music Supervisor

Click here for the full list of 2017 Primetime Emmy nominees.