Angela Parrish & Hunter Phelps Win Abe Olman Scholarships from Songwriters Hall of Fame

May 23, 2017

Pictured: Angela Parrish and Hunter Phelps 

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced the 2017 recipients of its Abe Olman Scholarships for Excellence in Songwriting. This year's recipients include ASCAP songwriters Angela Parrish and Hunter Phelps.

Abe Olman, for whom this program is named, was both a major figure in the music publishing community and an ASCAP songwriter himself, in addition to being one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Abe Olman Scholarships, given out annually since 1990, are made possible by his family in the interest of encouraging and supporting the careers of young songwriters.



Angela Parrish is an American Roots artist who proudly creates her own brand of music. The richest of influences can be heard in her songs, including Carole King, Ray Charles, Eva Cassidy and Lyle Lovett. But Angelaʼs story is all her own. Born and raised in Kansas, she wins audiences with her honest, emotional voice and distinctive piano playing while engaging with sharp and introspective lyrics. 

Angelaʼs voice is featured kicking off “Another Day of Sun,” the opening number in the Academy Award and Golden Globe-winning film La La Land written and directed by Damien Chazelle (Whiplash). Parrish track is on film’s soundtrack (Interscope). She performed two songs from La La Land live at the 2017 ASCAP Screen Music Awards

Angela has garnered praise for her songwriting from across the country; among other accolades, her song “The Couple Down the Hall” won second place in the inaugural Songwriters Hall of Fame Song Competition, and the song “Borrowed Time” was selected as a Grand Prize Winner in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest in 2016.

She has performed as a guest artist with legendary songwriter (and ASCAP President) Paul Williams, sang backup for Ben Folds at the Hollywood Bowl, and headlined singer-songwriter venues throughout the nation. Hailed as a performer with “a classic and captivating voice” (Sandra Burciaga, Grimy Goods), Angela proudly released her debut EP Faithful and Tall in 2015. The record was produced by Jamie Candiloro (Ryan Adams, R.E.M., Willie Nelson), features guest vocals by Sean Watkins of the band Nickel Creek, and earned her two 2016 Independent Music Award nominations.

Angela lives, writes, and performs in Los Angeles. She is proud to be a member of the GRAMMY® NEXT initiative Class of 2017, and is endorsed by Nord Keyboards.


Hunter Phelps was born and raised in Niceville, Florida, where he was introduced to songwriting at a young age by his father, who owned a small recording studio. When he wasn’t out hunting or fishing the bayous and bays of the Florida panhandle, he spent his days teaching himself to play the guitar and working at a local marina.

After high school, Hunter attended the University of Florida in Gainesville, where he began writing songs. He joined a band, started playing tailgate parties and bars around town, and quickly developed a loyal following.

Early in his career, he shared the stage with major label acts like Jason Aldean, Blake Shelton, Gary Allen, Keith Anderson and Michael Ray.

Hunter moved to Nashville in 2012, before ever having visited the town and without really knowing how to break in to Music City’s circles. Armed with his guitar, he honed his craft in the honky-tonks of Lower Broadway and sharpened his songwriting skills in the writers’ rooms of Music Row. In 2014, shortly after his self-released debut EP came out, Hunter signed a joint publishing deal with Warner/Chappell Music and hit songwriter Ashley Gorley’s Tape Room Music, where his recent cuts include Florida Georgia Line’s “Wish You Were On It,” recorded for their upcoming album, Dig Your Roots.

Hunter is currently writing and recording for his debut full-length album release.

More information regarding all of the 2017 recipients can be found in the Scholarship section of the website