Vote in the 2017 ASCAP Composers' Choice Awards!

Honoring your favorite ASCAP film, TV and video game music of 2016

Last year was an incredible year for ASCAP composers. Help us celebrate by voting in the ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards! Our nominees were hand-picked by a nominating committee of composers, film/TV industry leaders, and members of the Game Audio Network Guild, an organization of video game music professionals.

As a valued ASCAP writer member, we want to know who and what moved you the most. Your vote will help determine the winners, which we will announce at the ASCAP Screen Music Awards on May 16th.

Vote on your favorite:


2016 ASCAP Film Score of the Year – films theatrically released in the U.S. in 2016
This category has 6 nominees due to a tie in the number of nominations.

  • Arrival by Jóhann Jóhannsson

  • Eddie the Eagle by Matt Margeson

  • Lion by Hauschka

  • Manchester by the Sea by Lesley Barber

  • Moonlight by Nicholas Britell

  • Zootopia by Michael Giacchino

2016 ASCAP TV Composer of the Year – television programs that initially aired in the U.S. in 2016
This category has 6 nominees due to a tie in the number of nominations.

  • Jeff Cardoni (The Grinder, Silicon Valley, Speechless)
  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein (Stranger Things)
  • James S. Levine  (Bloodline, Major Crimes, Rizzoli & Isles, Royal Pains, Star)
  • Bear McCreary (Agents of SHIELD, Black Sails, Damien, Outlander, The Walking Dead)
  • Dave Porter (Better Call Saul, The Blacklist, Preacher)
  • Didier Lean Rachou (Bering Sea Gold, Deadliest Catch, Food Network Star, Gold Rush, Edge of Alaska)


2016 ASCAP Video Game Score of the Year – video games released in the U.S. in 2016
This category has 4 nominees due to the number of eligible nominations.

  • Destiny: Rise of Iron by Michael Salvatori, Skye Lewin and C. Paul Johnson
  • Fossil Echo by John Robert Matz
  • Killer Instinct: Season 3 by Tom Salta (aka Atlas Plug) and Klayton (aka Celldweller)
  • Overwatch by Neal Acree, Adam Burgess

Your votes must be submitted by Sunday, April 16th at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time. Only ASCAP writer members in good standing are eligible to vote, and you will need to enter your ASCAP member ID number to submit your vote.

You can only vote once and can only vote for one nominee per ASCAP Composers' Choice Awards category. So choose carefully!

Click here for the ASCAP Screen Music Awards Official Rules, which contain additional rules and eligibility requirements.

For questions reach out to @ASCAP on Twitter with hashtag #ComposersChoice.