ASCAP Members Lead Nominations for Induction into Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction at 5th Annual LA MUSA AWARDS

February 10, 2017

On February 7th, the Board of Directors and Officers of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF) announced the names of the 24 songwriters and composers nominated for induction into the Hall during the 5th Annual LA MUSA AWARDS. Fifteen of those nominated are direct members of ASCAP or license their music through ASCAP in the US. The six candidates with the greatest number of votes will be officially inducted at a prestigious ceremony to be held in October presented by WorldArts. Representing a wide variety of music genres and geography, this year’s group of nominees reflect the enormous creativity and diversity of the Latin music culture.

In a joint statement, Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman and ASCAP Board member Desmond Child and LSHOF President Rudy Pérez said, “This year’s LA MUSA AWARDS celebrating our 2017 Inductees will be a star-studded event gleaming with some of the most notable Latin music icons of all time.”

The voting period began on Monday, February 6th and closes on Friday March 3, 2017 at midnight. Voting is open to the public and music fans and industry professionals can all vote for their favorite songwriters and composers by becoming members of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame.The final list of the 2017 Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in April 2017.

For a list of nominees and to vote, visit:

ASCAP Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees

  • Jorge Calendrelli (Argentina)
  • Gustavo Marquez (Argentina)
  • Fernado Osorio (Colombia/Venezuela)
  • Amaury Gutierrez (Cuba)
  • Romeo Santos (Dominican Republic)
  • Armando Avila (Mexico) SACM
  • Ana Gabriel (Mexico) SACM
  • Carlos Lara (Mexico) SACM
  • Fher Olvera (Mexico)
  • Marco Antonio Solis (Mexico)
  • Martin Urieta (Mexico) SACM
  • Ruben Blades (Panama)
  • Roberto Anglero (Puerto Rico)
  • Enrique Iglesias (Spain)
  • Ricardo Montaner (Venezuela) SGAE

The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501c3 non-profit organization founded in 2012 by renowned songwriter/producers Desmond Child and Rudy Pérez. LSHOF's mission is to educate, honor and celebrate the lives and music of the world's greatest Latin songwriters and composers as well as inspiring new generations of music creators through master classes, workshops, scholarships and digital initiatives. For more information on the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame and the 5th annual LA MUSA AWARDS visit