Garth Brooks Wins Entertainer of the Year at 50th Annual CMA Awards

November 3, 2016

Legendary ASCAP songwriter-artist Garth Brooks took the coveted Entertainer of the Year Award at the 50th annual CMA Awards, hosted for the ninth time by ASCAP and CMA Award-winner Brad Paisley with Carrie Underwood, and aired live on ABC on Wednesday, November 2nd from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

ASCAP’s 2016 Vanguard Award honoree Chris Stapleton was named Male Vocalist of the Year for the second consecutive year. In 2015, Stapleton made history when he became the first to receive CMA honors for Album of the Year, top New Artist and best Male Vocalist in the same year.

Click here for complete coverage of ASCAP’s 54th Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards

Brothers Osborne, who earned Song of the Year honors at the ASCAP Country Music Awards on Monday, October 31st, were awarded the CMA’s top Vocal Duo of the Year prize. Mega-producer and guitarist Dann Huff was honored as Musician of the Year.

Dierks Bentley’s duet with Elle King, “Different For Girls,” picked up the CMA Award for Musical Event of the Year, and Stapleton won the award for Music Video of the Year. Both awards were announced earlier in the day during a live broadcast of Good Morning America from downtown Nashville.

Congratulations to all of ASCAP’s 2016 CMA Awards winners and nominees:
(bold text indicates winners)

Entertainer Of The Year
Garth Brooks
Chris Stapleton

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Chris Stapleton

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Joey + Rory
Maddie & Tae

Single of the Year
"Die a Happy Man," Thomas Rhett
Produced by Dann Huff and Jesse Frasure
Mix Engineered by Justin Niebank
The Valory Music Co.

“Nobody To Blame,” Chris Stapleton
Produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton
Mix Engineered by Vance Powell
Mercury Nashville/Universal Music Group Nashville

Album of the Year
Dierks Bentley, Black

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

New Artist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Brothers Osborne
Old Dominion

Musical Event of the Year
“Different For Girls,” Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King
[Capitol Records Nashville / Universal Music Group Nashville]

“Think Of You,” Chris Young (duet with Cassadee Pope)
[RCA Nashville / Sony Music Nashville]

“You Are My Sunshine,” Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton
[Low Country Sound / Elektra Records]

Musician of the Year
Paul Franklin, Steel Guitar
Dann Huff, Guitar
Derek Wells, Guitar

Music Video of the Year
“Fire Away,” Chris Stapleton
“Somewhere On A Beach,” Dierks Bentley