Chris Stapleton, Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell, Shawn Colvin and More Among Top ASCAP Winners at Americana Music Association Awards

By Erik Philbrook, ASCAP Editor in Chief  •  October 5, 2016

One of the most talked-about roots music artists of the past year, Chris Stapleton, took home the Artist of the Year honor at the at the 15th Annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards show on September 22nd at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium. Stapleton was awarded Artist of the Year honors for the overall impact made via his 2015 solo debut Traveller.

Each year, the Honors and Awards show celebrates current Americana projects, a slate of Lifetime Achievement awards, and a set of unique, unforgettable performances. ASCAP musical legends such as Grateful Dead founder Bob Weir and country music megastar George Strait graced the fabled Ryman stage alongside buzzed-about ASCAP newcomers Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats.

Longtime musical collaborators Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell earned Group/Duo of the Year (their second win in this category), and fiddler Sara Watkins was named Instrumentalist of the Year (the first female to win this award).

Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Shawn Colvin (Trailblazer) and Bob Weir (Performance) and Billy Bragg received the Spirit of Americana/Free Speech In Music Award, co-presented by the First Amendment Center.

ASCAP’s Americana Music Honors & Awards 2016 Winners:

Artist of the Year: Chris Stapleton

Group/Duo of the Year: Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins

Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center: Billy Bragg

Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Shawn Colvin

Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Bob Weir