Apply for The ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Prize

$5000 prize awarded to the composer of the best original concert music score requiring a conductor.

Monday, November 16, 2020, 5pm ET

Nissim Prize

About the Award

This $5000 cash prize is presented annually to an ASCAP concert composer for a work requiring a conductor that has not been performed professionally. 

The Award honors Dr. Rudolf Nissim, who served as head of ASCAP’s Foreign Department for four decades and also established the ASCAP Concert Music Department. Prior to fleeing to the United States in 1940, Dr. Nissim had been Managing Director of the Austrian Performing Rights Society (AKM) for seven years. Dr. Nissim’s dedication to concert music and concert music creators was an inspiration to his colleagues, and his generous bequest to the Foundation is a reminder of his legacy in perpetuity.

Participation in the Award is subject to The ASCAP Foundation Official Awards General Rules and Regulations (the “Rules”). To the extent not specifically defined below, all capitalized terms have the meaning set forth in the Rules.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for consideration for the Award, an entrant (each, an “Entrant”) must be, at the time of entry, a writer member of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (“ASCAP”) in good standing.  For a writer member of ASCAP to be in good standing, such writer must have been elected to membership in ASCAP, be eligible to vote at General Meetings of ASCAP, and have not either (a) resigned from membership or (b) delivered an effective notice of intent to resign from membership. The Foundation may, in its sole discretion, disqualify any Entrant if, at any time prior to the awarding of the Award, such writer is no longer in good standing with ASCAP or becomes affiliated with any performing rights or collective rights management organization other than ASCAP.

Age Requirement: Entrants must be, at the time of entry, at least 18 years of age or the age of majority in the state or country of residence, whichever is older.

No Co-Writing: Co-written works are ineligible.

No Previous Award Recipients: Previous Award Recipients are not eligible to receive the Award. 

Award Period

The “Application Period” begins on September 25, 2020, and ends at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time on November 16, 2020.

Apply and get more details: