"City of ASCAP": Top ASCAP songwriters win Oscar for Best Original Song

During Hollywood's biggest night, ASCAP members Benj Pasek and Justin Paul took home the Oscar for Best Original Song for "City of Stars" from the musical film La La Land, which they shared with the film's composer, Justin Hurwitz. We are thrilled to congratulate them on their success!

ASCAP members were nominated for all five songs in the Best Original Song category. In addition to "City of Stars," Pasek and Paul were also nominated for La La Land's "Audition (The Fools Who Dream)"; Max Martin, Shellback and Justin Timberlake were nominated for "Can't Stop the Feeling" from Trolls; J. Ralph was nominated for "The Empty Chair," co-written with Sting for Jim: The James Foley Story; and Lin-Manuel Miranda received a nomination for "How Far I'll Go" from Moana. All five songs were performed live during the Academy Awards broadcast. Another musical highlight of the night was ASCAP member Sara Bareilles's performance of Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now" during the moving In Memoriam tribute.

We congratulate Pasek and Paul on their well-deserved Oscar and thank them for calling ASCAP home.

Read more about Pasek and Paul and ASCAP's other Oscar nominees