Hanan Townshend

Composer: The Better Angels


Hanan Townshend is an adept, fast rising film composer based in Austin, Texas. He began studying music at an early age and always found himself fascinated by the relationship between music and visual art specific to film. This led him to pursue film composition after receiving his bachelors in composition and music studies from University of Texas and Victoria University (Wellington, NZ), studying under Bruce Pennycook, John Psathas, and grammy-nominated Mitch Watkins. Townshend was a music licensee on Terrence Malick’s Palme d’Or-winning film The Tree Of Life; this is where he received his first significant recognition. Since then, Townshend has continued composing for feature films, including working as the composer on Malick’s film To The Wonder, starring Ben Affleck, Olga Kurylenko and Rachel McAdams. He has also collaborated with producers such as Mike McCarthy and the legendary Daniel Lanois. Townshend’s music reflects the broad background of inspiration from which he draws – the poetic soundscapes of his home country, the eager patterns of popular music, and the refinement of classical training and studies in art composition. Because of this, he has a penchant for approaching film music from a less conventional perspective and producing clever, memorable pieces that support just as much the picturesque as they do the auditory experience.

On the web @:

Like Hanan Townshend on Facebook

More Composer Bios