Where Creators Connect

The Premier Conference for Songwriters, Composers, Artists and Producers

Open to All, Not Just ASCAP Members!

The ASCAP "I Create Music" EXPO puts you face-to-face with some of the world's most successful songwriters, composers, artists, producers and music business leaders, who willingly share their expertise and give you the know-how to take your music to the next level.

Launched in 2006, the ASCAP "I Create Music" EXPO is the first and only national conference dedicated to songwriting and composing. Selling out in its inaugural year, the EXPO immediately provided a unique opportunity for songwriters, composers, artists, producers, publishers - and those in the industry that support them - to come together in an unprecedented way to share their knowledge and expertise. In its short history, the innovative programming offered to attendees has grown to include celebrity Q&A's, master classes, songwriting and composing workshops, publisher and business panels, One-on-One sessions, DIY career building workshops, showcases and performances, song feedback panels, state-of-the-art technology demos as well as leading music industry exhibitors.

EXPO Register

Some of the biggest names in music, both on the creative and business side, have participated in the ASCAP EXPO. The EXPO's headliner interviews have been with:

Timbaland (2016)
Bill Withers interviewed by Aloe Blacc (2015)
Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald (2014)
Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis (2014)
Katy Perry (2013)
Ne-Yo & Stargate (2013)
Carly Simon (2012)
The Smeezingtons (Bruno Mars, Philip Lawrence, Ari Levine) (2012)
Lindsey Buckingham interviewed by Sara Bareilles (2011)
Quincy Jones interviewed by Ludacris (2010)
Justin Timberlake & Bill Withers (2010)
John Mayer (2010)
Ann & Nancy Wilson (Heart) (2009)
Jeff Lynne (2009)
Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora (2008)
Jackson Browne (2008)
Steve Miller (2008)
Randy Newman (2007)
Tom Petty (2006)

At each EXPO, there are nearly 200 panelists and performers, including such people as:

Walter Afanasieff
Antonina Armato
Becky G
Clarence Avant
Johnta Austin
Klaus Badelt
Glen Ballard
Martin Bandier
Sara Bareilles
Dave Bassett
Eric Bazilian
Natasha Bedingfield
Pat Benatar
Richard Bellis
Marco Beltrami
Brendan Benson
Alan & Marilyn Bergman
Steve Berman
Dan Bern
Big Sean
Andrew Bird
Aloe Blacc
Rachael Bloom
Jon Bon Jovi
Claudia Brant
Stephen Bray
Michael Brook
Jonatha Brooke
Kerry "Krucial" Brothers
Bruce Broughton
Darrell Brown
Jackson Browne
Chris Brubeck
Bun B
Lindsey Buckingham
Kenny Burrell
Kandi Burruss
Charlotte Caffey (The Go-Go's)
Erica Campbell (Mary Mary)
Warryn Campbell
Don Cannon
Mike Caren
Mary Chapin Carpenter
Deana Carter
Regina Carter
Andrew Cedar
Paul Chihara
Jay L. Cooper, Esq.
Tom Chapin
Desmond Child
Brandy Clark
Maurette Brown Clark
Alf Clausen
Barry Coburn
Ted Cohen
Judy Collins
John Corigliano
Wes Craven
Marshall Crenshaw
Kevin Cronin (REO Speedwagon)
Andraé Crouch
Douglas Cuomo
Da Internz
Lashawn Daniels
Hal David
John Debney
Patrick Doyle
Dre & Vidal
George Duke
Jermaine Dupri
Barry Eastmond
Alexander Ebert
Mike Elizondo
Melissa Etheridge
Ron Fair
James Fauntleroy
Roger Faxon
Rory Feek
Don Felder (Formerly of the Eagles)
John Feldmann
Melanie Fiona
Colleen Fitzpatrick (Vitamin C)
Dan Foliart
John Forté
James Fortune
Peter Frampton
Mitchell Froom
Toby Gad
Siedah Garrett
Inara George
Christopher "Drumma Boy" Gholson
Michael Giacchino
Neil Giraldo
Randy Goodrum
Ashley Gorley
Gordon Goodwin
Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald
Amy Grant
Amaury Gutierrez
Jared Gutstadt
Nic Harcourt
Jerry Harrison
Justin Hawkins
Daniel Heath
Tom Higgenson (Plain White T's)
Keri Hilson
Rupert Hine
Daniel Ho
Sam Hook
Jamie Houston
James Newton Howard
Mark Hudson
Ariel Hyatt
Mark Isham
Brett James
Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis
Wyclef Jean
Quincy Jones
Ron Jones
Ken Jordan (The Crystal Method)
Just Blaze
Kevin Kadish
Dean Kay
Lenny Kaye
Josh Kear
Charles Kelley (Lady Antebellum)
John King (Dust Brothers)
Steve Kipner
Chaka Khan
Larry Klein
Holly Knight
Kool Kojak
Savan Kotecha
Greg Kurstin
Russ Landau
Jonny Lang
Morten Lauridsen
Philip Lawrence (The Smeezingtons)
Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller
Tania León
Alejandro Lerner
Jared Leto
Leeds Levy
Ari Levine
James S. Levine
Steve Lillywhite
Jon Lind
Hillary Lindsey
Steve Lindsey
Chris Lord-Alge
LaToya Luckett
Deborah Lurie
Kevin Lyman
Jeff Lynne
Seth MacFarlane
Kenny MacPherson
Audra Mae
Mali Music
Johnny Mandel
Bruno Mars (The Smeezingtons)
Richard Marx
Andrea Martin
John Mayer
Bear McCreary
MC Lyte
Larry John McNally
Brian McKnight
Tracy McKnight
Audra Mae
Andre Merritt
Ingrid Michaelson
Raul Midón
Marcus Miller
Rhett Miller
Steve Miller
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Nico Muhly
Jason Mraz
Matt Nathanson
Joey Newman
Randy Newman
Tab Nkhereanye
No I.D.
Rick Nowels
Pamela Phillips Oland
Robert Ellis Orrall
Dan "ROBOPOP" Omelio
Beth Orton
Martin Page
David Paich
Ray Parker, Jr.
Van Dyke Parks
Don Passman, Esq.
Shawn Patterson
Stephen Paulus
Heitor Pereira
Rudy Perez
Katy Perry
Linda Perry
Gretchen Peters
Tom Petty
Poo Bear
Steve Porcaro
Mike Posner
Kelly Price
Trevor Rabin
Ariel Rechtshaid
Mike Reid
Priscilla Renea
David Renzer
Nate Ruess (fun.)
John Rich
Lee Ritenour
Pete Rock
Kevin Rudolf
Rivers Rutherford
John Rzeznik
S1 (Symbolyc One)
Richie Sambora
Harmony Samuels
Gustavo Santaolalla
Matt Scannell
Adam Schlesinger
Eddie Schwartz
Stephen Schwartz
Darrell Scott
Jill Scott
Matt Serletic
Jeff Silbar
Tommy Sims
Valerie Simpson
Marc Shaiman
Allen Shamblin
Michelle Shocked
Carly Simon
Ricky Skaggs
Jill Sobule
J.D. Souther
Alison Sudol (A Fine Frenzy)
John Stamos
Billy Steinberg
Christopher "Tricky" Stewart
Cameron Strang
Sevyn Streeter
Phil Tarver
Ryan Tedder
Rob Thomas
Nick Thorburn (Islands)
Justin Timberlake
Joseph Trapanese
Tye Tribbett
Brian Tyler
Kathy Valentine (The Go-Go's)
David Vanacore
Phil Vassar
Suzanne Vega
Loudon Wainwright III
Rufus Wainwright
D.A. Wallach
Narada Michael Walden
Butch Walker
Don Was
Mark Watters
Jimmy Webb
Greg Wells
Wendy & Lisa
Bill Werde
Deryck Whibley (Sum 41)
Eric Whitacre
Jane Wiedlin (The Go-Go's)
Mike WiLL
Paul Williams
Pharrell Williams
Ann & Nancy Wilson (Heart)
Dan Wilson
Craig Wiseman
Bill Withers
Doug Wood
Bernie Worrell
James "Big Jim" Wright
Malik Yusef
Dan Zanes
David Zippel
...and hundreds more!

See what the EXPO is like...

Connect with #ASCAPEXPO



"I accomplished in 3 days at the EXPO, what would take me a year to do on my own!"

Rehya Stevens, Attendee



Where Creators Connect

The Premier Conference for Songwriters, Composers, Artists and Producers

The ASCAP "I Create Music" EXPO puts you in the heart of ASCAP's community of today's most successful music creators for three days of education, networking and inspiration.
Open to all, not just ASCAP members.


*ASCAP EXPO reserves the right to amend the program or participants without prior notice

Sponsors + Exhibitors

RSPE Audio Solutions
CD Baby
City National Bank
MusicPro Insurance
Music Connection
Musician's Institute
Royalty Exchange
Tinhorn Flats
Cre•8 Music Academy
The Women's International Music Network
SAG 2014
prism media
Casio America, Inc.
Fox Rothschild
The Recording Academy
State of Hawaii
USA Songwriting
reamp studios
Society of Composers and Lyricists
The Songwriting School of Los Angeles
IK multimedia
CNN Original Series
The Music Business Registry, Inc.

Media Partners

American Songwriter
Flood Magazine
The Hollywood Reporter
International Musician
LA Weekly
Music Connection
Music Industry Quarterly
Sound on Sound

© Copyright 2014 ASCAP Terms of Use Privacy and Cookie Policy