Songwriter of the Year - Steve Mac

Steve Mac

Songwriter, Producer, Musician, Publisher, Studio owner and Cyclist, Steve Mac has had an impressive track record of hits since starting his career as a studio apprentice in 1990. Since his first ever production ‘Hear The Drummer Get Wicked’ by Chad Jackson hit No3 on the UK chart’s and his first co-write hit ‘Gonna Give You Devotion’ with Nomad which reached No2 in 1991, Mac has never looked back. Since then he has become one of the most successful writer/producers in modern pop with 24 No1 singles in the UK and has been associated with over 150 hit singles and albums internationally.

Mac began learning to play the piano at the age of eight. His interest in music as a career, however, did not begin until he apprenticed with producer Nigel Wright at Skratch Music’s studio. He also was encouraged to pursue a career as a record producer after joining a school band that needed a keyboard player. Although the band didn’t take off, this experience cemented his decision to become a producer and songwriter.

From his Rokstone Studios base in London’s Parsons Green, Mac has provided hits for artists as diverse as The Wanted, Il Divo, Westlife, Cobra Starship, One Direction, Susan Boyle, JLS, Kelly Clarkson, Union J, The Saturdays, Ruben Studdard, Kate Winslet and Leona Lewis amongst others.

In 2012, Steve Mac received the ASCAP Song of the Year award for ‘You Make Me Feel….’ by Cobra Starship. Mac has also won MMF Producer of the Year and had Record of the Year Award three times. In 2009, Mac was nominated for Producer of the Year at the Music Producers Guild Awards. He also won a MOBO Award and the 2010 Brit Award in the Best Single Category for JLS ‘Beat Again’ and was nominated for the 2011 Brit Best Single Award for The Wanted ‘All Time Low’ and in 2012 for The Wanted ‘Glad You Came’.

In 2013 Mac continues his busy schedule working as writer and/or producer with James Blunt, John Newman, Seal, The Cab and Union J. He is also enjoying writing with Ina Wroldsen, Wayne Hector, Ed Drewett, Claude Kelly, Lindy Robbins, Jason Derulo and Iain James.