The Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards

Supported by The Herb Alpert Foundation and The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund

The Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards were established to encourage young jazz creators. Initiated in 2002 and renamed the Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards in 2012, the program recognizes composers under 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. This national program is now sponsored by The Herb Alpert Foundation and The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund.

The Herb Alpert Foundation

he Herb Alpert FoundationThe Herb Alpert Foundation, a non-profit, private foundation established in the early 1980's, makes significant annual contributions to a range of programs in the fields of Arts, Arts Education and Compassion and Well Being. Its funding is directed toward projects in which Herb and Lani Alpert and Foundation President Rona Sebastian play an active role. [The Foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals.]

Visit The Herb Alpert Foundation website

Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards panelists have included:

Shelly Berg, Ken Cicerale, Anat Cohen, John Fedchock, Mark Feldman, Frank Foster, Wycliffe Gordon, Ken Hatfield, Gregor Huebner, Jay Leonhart, Phil Markowitz, Oscar Perez, Rufus Reid, Henry Threadgill, Sachal Vasandani

ASCAP Foundation support of Jazz also includes:

  • Jazz Scholarship programs honoring Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, and W.C. Handy*

  • Grants to organizations such as Adrienne Arsht Center, Backcountry Jazz, Cab Calloway School Fund, Jazz House Kids, Jazzmobile, JazzReach, the New Orleans Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong Summer Jazz Camp, and Zumix*

  • Jazz scholarship at the University of New Orleans*

  • Music Improv Camp USA*

* Made possible by a grant from the Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation, Inc.

The ASCAP Foundation supports programs in all musical genres and is national in scope. Launched in 1975, it is a publicly supported charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs.