Watch exclusive live performances and acceptance speeches from the event on ASCAP's YouTube page:

ASCAP hosted its 50th Annual Country Music Awards on October 29th, 2012, in the Tennessee Ballroom at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel and Resort. The writers of country music's most performed songs of the period between April 2011 and March 2012 were honored before an audience of many of Nashville's most distinguished songwriters, top country stars and music industry leaders. Special tribute was paid to Bob McDill, who was presented with the ASCAP Golden Note Award, and Lyle Lovett, who received the ASCAP Creative Voice Award.

The evening's top honors were awarded to the following:

ASCAP Country Music Songwriter of the Year: Ben Hayslip
ASCAP Country Music Songwriter/Artist of the Year: Brad Paisley
ASCAP Country Music Song of the Year: "Barefoot Blue Jean Night," written by Eric Paslay and Terry Sawchuk; published by Cal IV Entertainment
ASCAP Country Music Song of the Year: "Honey Bee," written by Ben Hayslip; published by Warner/Chappell and This Music
ASCAP Country Music Publisher of the Year: Sony/ATV/EMI Music Publishing

The ASCAP Partners in Music Award was presented to Sirius XM Satellite Radio by ASCAP Executive Vice President of Licensing, Vincent Candilora, along with ASCAP members and special guests, Lady Antebellum's Charles Kelley and Dave Haywood.