Board of Directors: Marilyn Bergman

Marilyn Bergman is the first woman elected to ASCAP's Board of Directors and elected by the Board as ASCAP's President and Chairman.

Her many honors include three Academy Awards, four Emmy Awards and two Grammy Awards. In collaboration with her husband, Alan, Marilyn won Oscars for the songs "The Windmills of Your Mind," "The Way We Were," (both also received Golden Globe awards, and "The Way We Were" earned two Grammys), and for the score for Yentl. They received 16 Oscar nominations for songs "It Might Be You" from Tootsie, "How Do You Keep The Music Playing?" from Best Friends, "Papa Can You Hear Me" and "The Way He Makes Me Feel" from Yentl and "What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?" from The Happy Ending. They were nominated for a Golden Globe and an Academy Award for their song "Moonlight" from Sabrina. The four Emmys were for Sybil, Queen of the Stardust Ballroom, Ordinary Miracles, and A Ticket to Dream. Television themes: Maude, Good Times, Alice, Brooklyn Bridge, and In the Heat of the Night. Principal collaborators include Michel Legrand, Marvin Hamlisch, Dave Grusin, Cy Coleman, Henry Mancini, Johnny Mandel, John Williams, Quincy Jones, and James Newton Howard.

Bergman majored in music at New York's LaGuardia High School of Music and Art, and studied Psychology and English at NYU. She has received Honorary Doctorate Degrees from Berklee College of Music, Trinity College and University of Massachusetts.

Bergman was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame and has received the Crystal Award from Women in Film; the National Academy of Songwriters Lifetime Achievement Award; the first Fiorello Lifetime Achievement Award from LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts. The Songwriters Hall of Fame honored the Bergmans with the Johnny Mercer Award. They received the NMPA Lifetime Achievement Award; the NARAS Governors Award; the World Soundtrack Award at the Flanders Film Festival and a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Savannah Film Festival. In 2009 Marilyn was given the Indie Award from the Association of Independent Music Publishers, and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences paid tribute to her and Alan with an evening of their films hosted by Quincy Jones.

Bergman is a member of the Executive Committee of the Music Branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Songwriters and the Nashville Songwriters Association. She served two terms as President of CISAC, the International Confederation of Performing Right Societies; has received France's highest cultural honor, Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters medal; a cultural Medal of Honor from SGAE, the Spanish performing rights organization; and was appointed the first Chairman of the National Recorded Sound Preservation Board of the Library of Congress.

The Bergmans are working on the revival of the musical Ballroom with music by Billy Goldenberg and new music by Marvin Hamlisch, set for a 2011 production starring Tyne Daly with direction and choreography by Jerry Mitchell. They are also preparing work on an animated film with Marvin Hamlisch.