November 27, 2012

2012 ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize Winner Announced

Takuma Itoh Wins $5000 Frederick Fennell Prize in Competition for Young Composers of Concert Band Music

Takuma Itoh

Takuma Itoh

New York, NY, November 27, 2012: Cia Toscanini, Vice President of Concert Music of ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) and Eric Rombach-Kendall, President of CBDNA (College Band Directors National Association), today jointly announced the sixth bi-annual ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize winner. The competition, named for Frederick Fennell, ASCAP member and past President of CBDNA, was established to encourage gifted American composers who create new works for Concert Band. The winning work was selected via a juried national competition, which attracted submissions from eligible composers (between the ages of 18 and 30) from across the United States.

The $5,000 prize for a wind ensemble work has been awarded to Takuma Itoh, age 27, for "Daydreams." The award-winning work will be performed by a prominent ensemble in 2013 and circulated to ensembles performing at the national and regional CBDNA conferences, and during the CBDNA Forum at the Mid-West Clinic.

Itoh spent his early childhood in Japan before moving to northern California where he grew up. His music has been described as "brashly youthful and fresh" (New York Times). Featured amongst one of "100 Composers Under 40" on NPR Music, he has been the recipient of the 2012 Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, four ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards (including the 2010 Leo Kaplan Award), the American Composers Orchestra Underwood New Music Readings, the Haddonfield Young Composer Competition, the New York Youth Symphony First Music Commission, the Renée B Fisher Composer Commission, the Pioneer Valley Symphony Young Composers Competition, and the Russell Horn Voices of Change Young Composer Award.

Itoh's music has been performed by the Albany Symphony, the New York Youth Symphony, Symphony in C, the Silesian Philharmonic Orchestra (Poland), the Shanghai Quartet, the St. Lawrence Quartet, the Momenta Quartet, violinist Joseph Lin, Syzygy Ensemble (Australia), Argento Chamber Ensemble, New Spectrum Ensemble, H2 Quartet, and the university orchestras and wind ensembles of Stanford, Cornell, Michigan, and Ithaca College. In addition, his works can be heard on Albany and Blue Griffin Records, and are published by Theodore Presser and Resolute Music.

Itoh has been a fellow at the Pacific Music Festival and the Aspen Music Festival, and an associate artist at the Atlantic Center for the Arts. He holds degrees from Cornell University, University of Michigan, and Rice University. His past teachers include Steven Stucky, Roberto Sierra, William Bolcom, Bright Sheng, and Pierre Jalbert.

Itoh is currently on the faculty of the University of Hawaii in Manoa. Further information is available at

Eric Rombach-Kendall said, "Frederick Fennell was a great champion in the establishment of a serious repertoire for wind bands in the 20th century. CBDNA is proud to partner with ASCAP to honor the legacy of Maestro Fennell by encouraging and promoting young composers in the creation of meaningful wind band music through the ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize. This partnership amplifies the ability to develop and recognize talented composers and bring their works into the consciousness of dedicated wind conductors."

Cia Toscanini said, "An esteemed member of ASCAP, Frederick Fennell was dedicated to fostering a great repertory for Concert Bands and Wind Ensembles. We honor the remarkable legacy of Frederick Fennell by recognizing the talented young composers whose works were selected in his name."

Additional works selected for Honorable Mention by the Jury will be circulated to ensembles performing at the national and regional CBDNA conferences, and during the CBDNA Forum at the Mid-West Clinic.

Honorable Mention:
Viet Cuong, age 22, Princeton, New Jersey - "Sound and Smoke" for wind band;
Andrew Davis, age 26, Austin, Texas - "The River Jumped Over the Mountain" for wind ensemble;
Ben Hjertmann, age 27, Chicago, Illinois - "Catclaw Mimosa" for wind ensemble;
Zack Stanton, age 29, Antioch, Tennessee - "Concerto for Piano and Wind Ensemble" for piano soloist and large wind ensemble;
Roger Zare, age 27, Sarasota, Florida - "Aerodynamics" for wind ensemble.

The ASCAP composer jurors for the 2012 competition were: Christopher Theofanidis and Melinda Wagner. The conductor jurors were: Glen Adsit (The Hartt School) and Richard Clary (Florida State University).

College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) members are devoted to the study, teaching, and performance of music, with a particular focus on music created for the numerous kinds of wind bands found throughout today's musical landscape.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 450,000 members representing more than 8.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.

DAYDREAMS (2010) by Takuma Itoh
Duration: 14'
Published by Takuma Itoh Music

3 Fl, (third doubling on Picc), 2 Ob (second doubling on Eng Hn), 4 Cl, Bs.Cl,
2 Bsn, 2 Alt Sax, 1 Ten Sax, 1 Bar Sax

3 Tpt, 4 Hn, 2 Trb, 1 Bs Trb, 1 Euph, 1 Tba

Perc (four players): Crotales (2 oct), 3-5 triang, 2 sus cymb., glock, vib, bs drm, tam-tam,

Pf, Hrp (opt.), Dbl Bs

Program Notes:

In Daydreams, I wanted to create an atmosphere of going in and out of a timeless suspension. To create this feeling, I used indeterminate (ad libitum) notation alongside a more conventional, metered notation: at times, the indeterminate figures create a suspended atmosphere (such as in the opening moments of the piece), while in other moments, propel the music forward with a rapid flurry of notes. The piece gradually builds until the climactic moment whena group of musicians who were on stage at the beginning of the piece move to the balconies, engulfing the listeners with a reverberant, "surround-sound" experience.


Press Contacts:
Bobbi Marcus
Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
(310) 889-9200

Tim Hayes
(212) 621-8414