44th Annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards Announced

October 9, 2012

New York, NY, October 9, 2012: The American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers has announced the winners of the 44th Annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards for outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music. The winners will be honored at a special invitation-only ceremony and reception on Wednesday, November 14th at ASCAP's New York offices. Over the years, tens of thousands of dollars have been distributed in cash prizes to winning authors, journalists and broadcast producers and personalities.

The Awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer/critic/commentator
Deems Taylor, who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP. The 44th ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards are made possible by the generous support of ASCAP, The ASCAP Foundation and the Virgil Thomson Foundation. Virgil Thomson (1896 - 1989) was one of the great 20th Century composers and music critics. Thomson served as a member of ASCAP's Board of Directors from 1975 to 1982.

The ASCAP Deems Taylor Radio Broadcast Award honors the outstanding Blues music program, Beale Street Caravan, a syndicated show based in Memphis, Tennessee that airs nationally and internationally. The program's executive producer is Sid Selvidge and the host is Pat Mitchell-Worley.

This year, two ASCAP Deems Taylor Media Awards are being presented. One recognizes the outstanding website of Chorus America, the advocacy, research, and leadership development organization of the choral field.

Also honored with the ASCAP Deems Taylor Media Award are the Serial Underground performance webcasts of Composers Collaborative, Inc. The award recognizes Composers Collaborative's Artistic Director, Jed Distler and the late Celia Cooke, who served as the organization's Managing Director.

The Nicolas Slonimsky Award for Outstanding Musical Biography in the concert music field honors Steve Swayne for his book, Orpheus in Manhattan: William Schuman and the Shaping of America's Musical Life, published by Oxford University Press. This award was established to honor the memory of Slonimsky (1894 - 1995), the Russian-American composer, conductor, musicologist and critic.

The Timothy White Award for Outstanding Musical Biography in the pop music field recognizes David Kastin for his book, Nica's Dream: The Life and Legend of the Jazz Baroness, published by W.W. Norton & Company. This award honors the memory of the late Tim White (1952 - 2002), the author of many acclaimed musical biographies and an editor-in-chief of Billboard magazine.

The Béla Bartók Award for Outstanding Ethnomusicology Book honors Lynn M. Sargeantfor her Harmony & Discord: Music and the Transformation of Russian Cultural Life, published by Oxford University Press. The award was established in memory of the great Hungarian composer, pianist and ethnomusicologist, Béla Bartók (1881 - 1945).

The authors and publishers of the other books to be honored at the ceremony are:

  • Daniel Cavicchi for Listening and Longing: Music Lovers in the Age of Barnum, published by Wesleyan University Press
  • Robert Levine for Free Ride: How Digital Parasites Are Destroying the Culture Business, and How the Culture Business Can Fight Back, published by Doubleday
  • Janet Schmalfeldt for In the Process of Becoming: Analytic and Philosophical Perspectives on Form in Early Nineteenth-Century Music, published by Oxford University Press
  • Clark Terry with Gwen Terry for Clark: The Autobiography of Clark Terry, published by University of California Press
  • (the late) Ellen Willis for Out of the Vinyl Deeps: Ellen Willis on Rock Music,published by University of Minnesota Press, edited by Nona Willis-Aronowitz

The writers of journal, magazine and newspaper articles, and liner notes and their respective publishers to be honored are:

  • Michael Alan Anderson for his article, "Fire, Foliage and Fury: Vestiges of Midsummer Ritual in Motets for John the Baptist," published in Early Music History by Cambridge University Press
  • Daphne Brooks for her liner notes to Take a Look: Aretha Franklin Complete on Columbia, released by Columbia/Legacy
  • Jim Farber for his articles, "Reaching the Limits of Nirvana" and "Taking Artistic License," published in The New York Daily News
  • Evan Haga for his article, "Night and Day: Jazz Meets Heavy Metal," published by JazzTimes
  • Ed Hazell for his liner notes to Billy Bang's Survival Ensemble - Black Man's Blues, released by NoBusiness Records
  • Jens F. Laurson for his article, "Madness, Thievery and a Train Full of Dynamite: The Greatest Symphonist Who Never Was," published by Listen: Life with Classical Music magazine
  • Frank J. Oteri for his article, "Sounds Heard: The Beach Boys - The Smile Sessions," published by New Music Box
  • Matthew Sigman for his article, "The Rights Thing: A Chorus Guide to Getting the Proper Permissions, published in The Voice.

The members of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards Judging Panel for 2012 are Paul Moravec, Daniel Felsenfeld, Jonathan David, Richard Miller, Julie Flanders, David Massengill, Matthew Shipp, Pat Irwin and John Wesley Harding.


Jim Steinblatt, 212-621-6318