April 06, 2012

The ASCAP Foundation Announces Recipients of 2012 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

New York, NY, April 6, 2012: ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2012 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The young composers will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at Merkin Concert Hall in New York on May 24, 2012.

Commenting on the awards, Paul Williams said, "The ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards program provides recognition and cash awards to gifted young composers of Concert Music. There were nearly 670 submissions this year and our dedicated jury selected 29 composers between the ages of 12 to 29 years of age. We congratulate the recipients and thank our ASCAP composer judges for their expertise in selecting this year's gifted young creators, who represent the bright future of American Concert Music."

The ASCAP composer/judges were; Samuel Adler, Eve Beglarian, Yotam Haber, Tamar Muskal , Roberto Sierra, Augusta Read Thomas and Randall Woolf.

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Memorial Fund, The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards program grants cash prizes to Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents, or students possessing US Student Visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.

The award-winning composers share prizes of over $40,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." Award recipients receive complimentary copies of Sibelius software, generously donated by Avid, the company that creates technology that people use to make the most listened to, most watched and most loved media in the world.

The 2012 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: David Biedenbender of Ann Arbor, MI (Waukesha, WI); William David Cooper of Davis, CA (Rocky Mount, NC); Derek David of Boston, MA (Los Angeles, CA); Simon Frisch of New York, NY; Michael Gilbertson of New Haven, CT (Dubuque, IA); Ted Goldman of Rochester, NY (New York, NY); Peng-Peng Gong of New York, NY (Nanjing, China); Ross Griffey of Seabrook, TX (Nassau Bay, TX); Ted Hearne of Brooklyn, NY (Chicago, IL); David Hertzberg of New York, NY (Santa Monica, CA);

Andrew Hsu of Philadelphia, PA (Fremont, CA); Emily Koh Waltham, MA (Singapore); Michael Lee of New York, NY (Atlanta, GA); Maxwell J. McKee of Annandale-on-Hudson, NY (Montclair, NJ); Jared Abraham Miller of New York, NY (Los Angeles, CA); Eric Nathan of New York, NY; Gity H. Razaz of New York, NY (Tehran, Iran); Kathryn Salfelder of Fairlawn, NJ (Paterson, NJ); Nathan Shields of Poughkeepsie, NY (Traverse City, MI); Mike Sweeney of Bloomington, IN (Albert Lea, MN); and Roger Zare of Ann Arbor, MI (Sarasota, FL).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 12 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Miles Jefferson Friday, age 18 (WA); Tengku Ahmad Irfan age 13 (NY); Anna Larsen, age 12 (MA); Yeeren I. Low, age 15 (PA); John Peter Redmond, age 12 (NY); Thomas Reeves, age 17 (NY); Jonas Tarm, age 18 (IL);and Renata Vallecillo , age 12 (NJ).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Anthony R. Green of Boulder, CO (Arlington, VA); Ian Ng of Long Island City, NY (Hong Kong, China); Michael Schachter of Ann Arbor, MI (Boston, MA); Matt Smith of Cleveland, OH (San Diego, CA); Francisco Castillo Trigueros of Chicago, IL ( Mexico City, Mexico);and Clinton J. Wang of New Haven, CT ( Toronto, Canada).

Honorable Mention in the youngest category: Gideon Broshy, age 18 (NY); Emily Elizabeth Brown, age 17 (MD); Thomas Feng, age 18 (CA); Sidarth Jayadev, age 14 (NY); Jake Landau, age 16 (CT); and Yeeray Low, age 17 (PA).

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org