February 02, 2012

2012 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards Recipients Announced

New York, February 1, 2012:  ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2012 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards.  The program, established in 2002, was created to encourage gifted jazz composers from throughout the United States.  The recipients, who receive cash awards, range in age from 10 to 29, and are selected through a juried national competition.

Commenting on the awards, Paul Williams said, "The talented young composers we recognize through this program represent the future of jazz, America’s homegrown musical art form. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the honorees."

The 2012 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients are listed with their age, current residence, and place of origin: Reuben Allen, age 23 of Rochester, NY (Chicago, IL)  Ryan Andrews, age 24 of Miami, FL (Chicago, IL); Lauren Baba, age 25 of Los Angeles, CA (Santa Ana, CA); Sebastian Boehlen, age 25 of New York, NY (Schweinfurt, Germany);  Michael Dease, age 29 of Astoria, NY (Augusta, GA); Paul Krueger, age 25 of Eugene, OR (Lincoln, NE); Joshua Kwassman, age 23 of New York, NY (Hartford, CT); Jimmy Macbride, age 20 of New York, NY (Hartford, CT);  Chase Morrin, age 18 of Cambridge, MA (San Diego, CA); Adam Neely, age 23 of Brooklyn, NY (Washington, DC); Jonathan Parker, age 25 of Rochester, NY (Alexandria, VA); Zan Tetickovic, age 20 of New York, NY (Ptuj, Slovenia); Jonathan Thomas,18 of  New York, NY (Cleveland, OH); Camille Thurman, age 25 of Queens, NY; Zac Zinger, age 23 of Brighton, MA (Sewickley, PA); and Christopher Zuar, age 24 of New York, NY.

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 10 to 18, are:  
Dominic Bierenga, age 17 (MI); Quin Kronyak, age 11 (NJ); David Leon, age 18 (Miami, FL);
Alma Macbride, age 16 (CT); and Tissiana Vallecillo, age 10 (AZ).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Quentin Angus, age 24 of New York, NY (Mount Pleasant, Australia); Phillip Golub, age 19 of Pacific Palisades, CA (Miami, FL); Martha Kato, age 22 of Brooklyn, NY (Nagoya, Japan); Richard Mikel, age 23 of Austin, TX (Mt. Holly, NJ);
Matt Savage, age 19 of Francestown, NH (Sudbury, MA); and Laila Smith, age 16 (CA).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2012 competition were: Ken Cicerale, John Fedchock and Rufus Reid.

The program is supported by The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund.

Bart Howard, a native of Burlington, Iowa, was a prolific composer who wrote over 200 songs, most notably the famous standard, “Fly Me To The Moon,” which has been performed by hundreds of singers including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nancy Wilson and Diana Krall.  Howard began his career as an accompanist at the age of 16 and played for Mabel Mercer, Johnny Mathis and Eartha Kitt among others.  He died in 2004.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

Contact: Jim Steinblatt