January 12, 2012

Gene Koshinski Named 32nd Annual Recipient of The ASCAP Foundation Nissim Prize

Ted Hearne, Matthew Peterson and Jonathan Sokol Receive Honorable Mention

gene koshinski

Gene Koshinski

New York, NY, January 11, 2012: In announcing the 2012 Rudolf Nissim Award winner, Paul Williams, President of The ASCAP Foundation, congratulated Gene Koshinski, whose winning work for full orchestra, entitled Concerto for Marimba and Choir, was selected from among 230 entries. Williams said, “The ASCAP Foundation honors the memory of Dr. Rudolf Nissim and his dedication to ASCAP’s Concert Composers by hosting this annual competition, for which a panel of conductors awards a prize of $5000 to the best score submitted.”

Dr. Rudolf Nissim, former head of ASCAP's International Department and a devoted friend of contemporary composers, established this annual prize through a bequest to The ASCAP Foundation.  The Prize is presented annually to an ASCAP concert composer for a work requiring a conductor that has not been performed professionally. A jury of conductors selects the winning score.

Percussionist and composer Gene Koshinski is currently Assistant Professor of Percussion at the University of Minnesota Duluth and in demand as a soloist and chamber musician throughout the United States and abroad. His music has been performed in countries as diverse as Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Slovenia, Jordan and Canada.  Koshinski has worked with many notable performance and entertainment organizations and artists, including The Hartford Symphony Orchestra, Minnesota Ballet, Lehigh Valley Choral Arts, The Philadelphia Boys Choir, NFL Films, Late Show with David Letterman, Mary Wilson (the Supremes), David Samuels, Wycliffe Gordon and The Lettermen.  He is currently section percussionist for the Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra and a member of Nebojsa Zivkovic’s Jovan Perkussion Projekt. His work for NFL Films can be heard on the Emmy award-winning soundtrack A Century of NFL. Performances have also been heard on the CBS, PBS, and EPSN television networks, as well as NPR.  In addition, he has recorded for the Naxos, Innova, and Equilibrium record labels.  Koshinski is a founding member of the Quey Percussion Duo, a touring group established to generate new works for percussion while also bringing standard repertoire to a broad audience.  He is also director of percussion at the annual Performing Arts International Summer Music Festival in Kingston, PA.  Koshinski served as a judge for the 2009 Percussive Arts Society Solo Competition at the PAS International Convention in Indianapolis.  He recently published a method book entitled The Additive Method of Two-Mallet Study, which focuses on keyboard percussion technique and performance. As an advocate for new music, Koshinski has commissioned and premiered works by renowned composers including Stuart Saunders Smith, Alejandro Viñao, David Macbride and Dave Hollinden. He holds degrees from West Chester University (BM) and The Hartt School (MM and DMA). His method book, solo albums and over 20 published compositions are distributed internationally, with many of his compositions receiving frequent global performances. Gene Koshinski is sponsored by Korogi Marimbas, Sabian Cymbals, Remo Drum Heads, and Innovative Percussion and his works are published by HoneyRock, Bachovich, and C. Alan Publications.  For more information: www.genekoshinski.com

The Jury also awarded Honorable Mention to: Ted Hearne (Brooklyn, NY) for Partition, a 20-minute work for chorus and orchestra; Matthew Peterson (Bloomington, IN) for Hyperborea, an 11-minute work for orchestra; and Jonathan Sokol. (Defiance, OH) for Gradient : Waves, a 12-minute work for chamber orchestra.

The judges for this year’s Nissim Prize were: Michael Morgan, Music Director of the Oakland East Bay Symphony and the Sacramento Philharmonic Orchestra, and Artistic Director of Festival Opera in Walnut Creek, California; Alan Pierson, Artistic Director and Conductor of Alarm Will Sound and the Brooklyn Philharmonic as well as Principal Conductor of Crash Ensemble, based in Dublin, Ireland; and Diane Wittry, Music Director of  the Allentown Symphony Orchestra (PA) and Artistic Director of the International Cultural Exchange Program for Classical Musicians with the Sarajevo Philharmonic

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs.  Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists.  The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org