ASCAP "We Create Music"
ACE / Repertory Find Titles, Writers & Publishers and more Find Titles, Writers, Publishers and more
November 04, 2011

2011 Concert Music Awards

ASCAP Honors Zhou Long, George Manahan, ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composers and More at Annual Event

George Steel (right) presents the Vitor Herbert Award to Le Poisson Rouge (LPR) and Co–Founders David Handler and Justin Kantor

George Steel (right) presents the Vitor Herbert Award to Le Poisson Rouge (LPR) and Co–Founders David Handler and Justin Kantor

Photo by RJ Capak

The 12th annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards took place on May 24th at Merkin Concert Hall at the Kaufman Center in New York City. ASCAP member, radio host and composer/conductor Bill McGlaughlin hosted the invitation-only event, which recognized the achievements of ASCAP’s 2011 Concert Music Honorees who represent the diverse aesthetic spectrum of the concert music world.

Among the presenters were Mark Adamo, Derek Bermel, Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, John Corigliano, Daniel Felsenfeld, James M. Kendrick, Esq., Tamar Muskal, Stephen Paulus, Alex Shapiro, George Steel, Doug Wood, and ASCAP's CEO John A. LoFrumento, Frances Richard, Cia Toscanini and Michael Spudic.

Among those honored this year were: Zhou Long, who was awarded the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Music for his opera, Madame White Snake; George Manahan, Music Director of the New York City Opera and the American Composers Orchestra, a conductor whose career-long advocacy for American composers and the music of our time has enriched and ennobled Concert Music both at home and abroad; Le Poisson Rouge’s co-founders, David Handler and Justin Kantor, who were presented with the Victor Herbert Award for their commitment to creating an environment which invites audiences to share and enjoy adventurous programming of the full spectrum of music of our time; Music Publishers Association and its President, Lauren Keiser, who were presented with the Arnold Broido Award for being champions of copyright protection, leaders in copyright education and generous supporters of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards; Face The Music and Founder,Artistic Director and Conductor

Jennifer Undercofler for the artistry and passion with which they perform and champion the music of living composers.

In addition, the recipients of the 2011 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards were presented with awards and congratulated.

For a complete list of award winners, click here