ASCAP "We Create Music"
ACE / Repertory Find Titles, Writers & Publishers and more Find Titles, Writers, Publishers and more


What better way to salute two visionaries in the field of concert music than to pay them homage at a joyful New York five-borough-festival kick-off in Manhattan’s West Village.

The ASCAP Foundation is pleased to announce that Vincent Calianno has been named recipient of the 36th annual ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Prize.

Last week witnessed a unique performance of solo improvisations from New York City-based composer and sound artist Tristan Perich. The scene for this foray into a conceptual soundscape that deftly unites the elemental and futuristic was Roulette, Downtown Brooklyn.

The ASCAP Foundation was proud to support a concert of choral works commissioned by Harold Rosenbaum and The New York Virtuoso Singers. The concert was held at National Sawdust, New York’s dynamic new concert venue in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Music is one of America's greatest cultural exports. Of course, the globalization of music cuts both ways. In celebration of the global scope of the ASCAP repertory, we’re thrilled to present 5 ASCAP international writers who are currently making waves around the world.

The SONiC Festival has once again left behind its unique and memorable trail of sonically adventurous, innovative concerts. We are proud that out of the almost 100 composers under age 40 who participated, the overwhelming majority are affiliated with ASCAP.

A luminous reception for LUNAIRE: A Vocal Salon for the New Moon in a concert that featured ASCAP composer Ricardo Romaniero. Ensemble LPR performed in its debut at The American Irish Historical Society on Manhattan’s Museum Mile.

A $5000 cash prize is presented annually to an ASCAP concert composer for a work requiring a conductor that has not been performed professionally. A jury of conductors selects the winning score. Previous winners are ineligible.

The Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards are granted annually to encourage talented young jazz composers. Applicants must submit a completed application form; an original score or chart of one composition accompanied by a CD indicating proper track (if applicable); biographical information listing prior music studies, background and experience.

With an ever increasing planetary focus upon economic, social and environmental challenges facing our planet, music too has an important place in caretaking that narrative. Witness a most recent concert at Symphony Space in New York City with works directly inspired by the challenges of climate change, spearheaded by noted economist and leader in sustainable development, Jeffrey D. Sachs.

The National Endowment for the Arts will cite Monk "for her contributions as a composer, singer, and performer. Renowned for her groundbreaking vocal techniques, Ms. Monk has reimagined the instrument of voice with her innovative work."

Congratulations to 16-year-old composer member Michael Jon Bennett, winner of the Davidson Fellows Scholarship! We were also proud to offer Bennett a 2015 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Award.

ASCAP provided support for this year's Bang On A Can Marathon. A force on the scene, the composer-driven collective Bang On A Can consistently nurtures, supports and promotes all that is cutting-edge, new and original.

Between lessons at Juilliard and rehearsals in preparation for an appearance at the Stuttgart Jazzopen Festival next month, composer and pianist Emily delighted the New York employees with a visit that included an intimate solo performance in the ASCAP Lounge.

ASCAP will hold its 16th annual Concert Music Awards on Thursday, May 21st, 2015 at Merkin Concert Hall at the Kaufman Center in New York City. ASCAP member, composer, conductor and radio broadcast journalist Bill McGlaughlin will host.

ASCAP composer Julia Wolfe won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for her oratorio "Anthracite Fields" for chorus and sextet.

The ASCAP Board Room was once again the location for another extraordinary session of the New York Youth Symphony Composition Program. The line-up included a special hour with conductor and four-time ASCAP Adventurous Programming Award Winner Mark Shapiro

In a Manhattan SoHo loft setting this first weekend of April, Festival Daniou presented a Benefit concert for the 2015 artists-in-residence, in support of a summer festival featuring contemporary chamber music performed in settings around the Côtes-d'Armor and Ille-et-Vilaine regions of Brittany, France.

Meredith Monk has been a composer, singer, choreographer and creator of new operas, musical theatre works and more for over 50 years. As she celebrates that milestone, she has released Piano Songs, a collection of 12 instrumentals for two pianos, magnificently performed by Bruce Brubaker and Ursula Oppens.